X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

installation poblems

I went trough a few scenarios:
    1 I boot my pc with the kubuntu( or fedora or ubuntu live cd), and then i get the first menu, i chose the first option (start install or live environment, not sure anymore now i'm typing this...) en then it hanged with a white blinking cursor top left.
    2 On my laptop this works fine.
    3 Ubuntu 11.10 install from usb drive. Now it gets a bit further, to the graphical loading screen, but it hangs there after a while... this did work on a friends pc, where we made the bootable stick(he has an icore5 16GBRAM SSD nvidia viseocard)

My config is amd athlon64 x2 4600+, 4GB DDR2 667, Nvidia GT9500, Sata 150GB, Win7 on Primary partition, and a second one, empty for this...
    I am new to linux, but have otherwise good pc skills(and sick of windows).

I read some things here and there of booting it in certain modes but am not sure how or which...

Some help would be greatly appreciated.
    Grtz FoxOne

There are different types of CD/DVD's available, it sounds like you have the Live version with the option to run the OS directly from the CD or USB image.
    Indeed it offers you two choices at startup, to install or to run in Live mode.
    When you are able to get to a full desktop you are again offered the option to install.

During all steps there are chances the system hangs or fails, the first things to check is the integrity of the iso file you downloaded using the supplied md5 hash and also check the integrity of the CD or USB drive you made.

When that's all 100% and the system still hangs while trying to boot you could start looking into some boot options to make reluctant hardware to cooperate.

The brand and type of the motherboard are important to know.

Comment

Your hardware shouldn't be preventing at least the live CD to load fully. Definitely a good idea to check the md5sum of the CD.