This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Upgrade fails from 11.04

I've tried to do an update to 11.10, from 11.04.
    I've opened the update manager, and started the update.
    Download OK, and during the installation, it closes, and fails with code 1.
    After I close the window, I wanted to use a program. I've openet Klauncher, and I saw, all he icons are changed to the blue folder icon. I turned off the computer, and became a bit angry with Kubuntu. Because that I don't know more problems. >
    So, how can I restore, or update Kubuntu without reinstall? I do not wannt to create another partition.
    Thanks for anybody, who can help.

Re: Upgrade fails from 11.04

Not a nice story.

You write you shut down the computer, were you still able to shut it down the regular way?
    And are you able to reboot into a desktop?
    Or are you maybe able to boot into one of the rescue modes?

Comment

Dear Tenuis!
      I'm not very good at English, so I don't wonder, how you miconceieved it.
      I can shut down my computer regularly, and I did it in that case. I hate force shutdown. (Windows).
      So, to answer your question, I can do anything in 11.04, only the widgets, icons, animations became unable.
      Passwords deleted/disabled it don't ask for it at install, wallet, etc...
      But the initial reason was the design, animations, widgets, and the design,. The second was the high security.
      And both were disappeared.
      I'm afraid of an update-attempt because I'm afraid of a bigger fail, and maybe a bigger trouble.
      Thanks for help.

Comment

OK so at least you can use the computer.
        Have you tried to get the latest updates?

And for in case you do need to do a fresh install, do you have a separate /home partition?

Comment

Yes, I can use it.
          I've downloaded the updates before, and after it, I tried to update the os.
          I have 4 partitions now.
          -First is the biggest: WindowsXP, data.