This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

worst linux install ever

I have been using linux for many years now, and to date this was the worst install I have ever done. Not only only did I receive that stupid grub boot error, (which is absolutely ridiculous and should never have gotten through to final release) but the installer somehow formatted the wrong f'ing drive!!!!!!! Yes, I selected the drive I wanted formatted, yet for whatever unknown, inconceivable reason, it decided instead to format one of my storage drives. The "powers that be" need to worry less about their schedule and more about making sure things work properly before putting a final release out. Another thing. If there is an issue with a release, they should fix it and issue another release asap. Seriously. 11.04 was released over a month ago, and a fixed image isn't available? That is just sad. /rant

Re: worst linux install ever

Yeah, Ubiquity has the tendency to format the wrong drive, or, even worse, format your /home partition, although you specifically told it not to. Nothing beats my last bout with Fedora, though. Four successive installs, three times with a broken X due to trying to load ATI drivers, the last one with a broken package database due to RPM hell, and Gnome 3 fallback mode when I finally succeeded in installing fglrx.
    "The only way Kubuntu could be more user friendly would be if it came with a virtual copy of Snowhog and dibl"

Comment

Ummmm the last time that I had it format the wrong partition was not with "ubuntu" or "kubuntu" but with another "type of OS" not Windblows....

the SIMPLE way to not have an OS format "the wrong drive"....is....ummmmmm

to UNPLUG THE DRIVE!

no tickeee no laundry!

woodsmoke
      sigpic
      Love Thy Neighbor Baby!

Comment

And...btw ....just "who" is "they"...i mean are the developers on some other planet?

woodsmoke
        sigpic
        Love Thy Neighbor Baby!

Comment

Originally posted by woodsmoke