This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wireless disabled in software

As netbooks go, mine is relatively powerful and I use a variety of KDE applications. I therefore installed kde-full.

I am unable to access wireless. The hardware toggle is definitely on but hovering with the mouse over the Ethernet icon displays a message that "wireless is disabled in software." ifconfig confirms the bad news: there is no stanza for wlan. lsmod shows, however, that the ath9k driver and all its dependencies are loaded and active.

I have not found where in System Settings (or anywhere else) that I should enable wireless. Entering my home wireless network in knetworkmanager accomplishes nothing. Wireless appears to be completely disabled; there is no graphical evidence that the system tries to associate with the access point.

Disclaimer 1: I have been breaking development software for almost 30 years (I am not that much younger than GreyGeek :-) ) and have the scars to show for it. Trying to upgrade four separate systems to natty beta1 has, however, proven to be a total nightmare.

Disclaimer 2: Despite the above, other life events have forced me to reduce the time I spend on a ten-year long passionate affair with Linux, especially its KDE flavour. I haven't found a good answer to this question through Google, but if one (or several) already exist(s), please point me int the right direction.

Re: Wireless disabled in software

Hardware info please

If unsure of the wireless chip, please post the output of the command lspci.
    It is most likely a driver issue, and there isn't really a place for that in System Settings. If your chip needs firmware, the Additional Drivers tool may help with that (usually for various Broadcom chips)

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I was a little imprecise in the original post. I already knew that the computer contains an Atheros chip which is why I had lsmod check only for the ath9k driver.