This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"kdedrc not writeable" message

Yesterday I shut down my system after using it for several hours with no unusual events. I was web browsing and checking email, and little else.

This morning I turned the system on. Before the login screen appeared, the following message popped up:

/tmp/1400130966/kde/share/config/kdedrc not writeable. Please contact your system administrator.

Closing this message, the login screen appears, and I can login and use the system with no apparent ill effects.

There is no folder named '1400130966' folder under /tmp, and I can't find a file named kdedrc anywhere on the system.

Searching the forum and the web, I found several reports of this error message, but they all seem to be in very different scenarios, and I got no clues as to what to do about it.

Can anyone help?
    I am relatively new to Linux, but quite experienced with DOS and Windows.&nbsp; I&#39;m comfortable editing things like fstab, etc., but I need specific instructions of what files to edit and what to add.<br /><br />My system is Kubuntu 10.10, using KDE 4.5.1.

Re: &quot;kdedrc not writeable&quot; message

Ignore it. The message referred to a 'temporary' file location.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Can't ignore it. It appears every time I boot.
      I am relatively new to Linux, but quite experienced with DOS and Windows.&nbsp; I&#39;m comfortable editing things like fstab, etc., but I need specific instructions of what files to edit and what to add.<br /><br />My system is Kubuntu 10.10, using KDE 4.5.1.

Comment

Originally posted by beckfield
        Can't ignore it. It appears every time I boot.
        Well,

Originally posted by beckfield
        Closing this message, the login screen appears, and I can login and use the system with no apparent ill effects.