This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to remove background image from KDE 4 Taskbar

There doesn't appear to be any way to remove the background image for the KDE 4 taskbar. I can't believe this isn't possible, it's such a basic thing. What am I missing?
    I am relatively new to Linux, but quite experienced with DOS and Windows.&nbsp; I&#39;m comfortable editing things like fstab, etc., but I need specific instructions of what files to edit and what to add.<br /><br />My system is Kubuntu 10.10, using KDE 4.5.1.

Re: How to remove background image from KDE 4 Taskbar

You'll need to change your plasma theme. The background is set as part of that, but you can change it to something different without a background image.

You go to System Settings>Appearance>Style>Workspace

There you will see a listing of plasma themes, and the option to get new themes. I use Aya, as it's pretty simple and it picks up its colors from the system colors. Since my system colors are dusty purples, I hadn't had any luck finding one of the fancy plasma themes with the backgrounds that match my color scheme... but I also like my panels and windows pretty simple.

Comment

Originally posted by Death Kitten
      You'll need to change your plasma theme. The background is set as part of that, but you can change it to something different without a background image.
      Thanks, I've installed Aya and it looks good. Boy, they sure weren't thinking about usability when they designed this. So far, KDE 4 is not too impressive from a user friendliness viewpoint.
      I am relatively new to Linux, but quite experienced with DOS and Windows.&nbsp; I&#39;m comfortable editing things like fstab, etc., but I need specific instructions of what files to edit and what to add.<br /><br />My system is Kubuntu 10.10, using KDE 4.5.1.

Comment

Originally posted by beckfield