This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I want Vista + Kubuntu dual boot

I have windows vista (64-bit) installed on the main partition of a 250 GB hard disk. The other partition is 12 GB, which HP uses for recovery.

I have three questions :
    1. How can I partition my hard disk?
    2. How many GBs should I allocate to this patition?
    3. If I install kubuntu-10.04 LTS (64-bit) on this partition, will it ask me if I want to start Windows Vista or Kubuntu, at boot up?

Please help. I'm a newbie.

Re: I want Vista + Kubuntu dual boot

#5 on the link in my signature has guidance and links to partitioning information. If this is your first time partitioning a hard drive, I would advise you to make a Parted Magic Live CD or USB stick, and then find a USB stick or old hard drive that you can practice on.

You are limited to 4 primary partitions. Since 2 are already monopolized, you can only have two more, and I would think you would want 3 more (meaning you'll have to use logical partitions inside an extended partition):

Kubuntu
    swap
    DATA (I assume you want to share data between Linux and Windows, so this will need to be NTFS format)

So, you might want to consider making a third primary partition, for DATA (go ahead and LABEL it "DATA" with the partitioning tool), and then the fourth primary partition will be of the "Extended" type, and you can put Kubuntu and its swap partition in two logical partitions in that one. They will be number "5" and "6" -- no worries. As for size, I'd recommend 15G for Kubuntu, 2G for swap, and the rest can be for your DATA partition.

Comment

will i able to logon to windows vista as well, after installing kubuntu?

Comment

how_to_dual_boot_windows_xp_and_linux_xp_installed _first

Once there, look for the link for the guide for Vista and Linux, Vista installed first.
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes