This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[solved] knetworkmanager showing unmanaged

I am still new to Kubuntu. That being said every time I boot and log in, knetworkmanager is giving me the "unmanaged" code when I hover over the icon in my system tray and when I click on it I get "network management disabled". I have tried restarting knetworkmanager to no avail. It was working earlier w/o issue. I have a bcm4318 wireless device but I have loaded the b43 module and had no problems w/ it in the past.

Thanx in advance for the help,
    Roman

Re: knetworkmanager showing unmanaged

knetworkmanager has problems. I wish the KDE developers would replace it with wicd.
    I would suggest trying GreyGeeks 1st suggestion to one of my posts.

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3112334.0
    Dell Inspiron 531/AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 4GB RAM/GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
    Kubuntu 16.04
    "I have a problem with the fact that they just make really 3rd rate products." Steve Jobs on Microsoft. From “Triumph of the Nerds"

Comment

Re: knetworkmanager showing unmanaged

Fixed by reinstalling then installing wicd FIRST then uninstalling knetworkmanager.
      Roman

Comment

Re: [solved] knetworkmanager showing unmanaged

Thanks this is probably stellar advice... BUT... it assumes one has a working internet connection. wicd is not on the live session distro, hence no way to load it before attempting to remove the onery knetworkmanager. argh!!!!! > or did I miss something...?
        Any other suggestions?

just reloaded 10.04, thanks anyway

Comment

The problem is wireless, not wired, connections.

Hopefully you have a wire somewhere to plug in. Then you can do all the networking.

With my laptop plugged into a wired outlet, I personally dumped Network-Manager-KDE (and autoremoved the associated components) then installed Wicd Network Manager:

sudo apt-get remove network-manager-kde
          sudo reboot
          sudo apt-get autoremove