Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wicd not recognizing my Password or able to Get IP Address on unsecured Network

Hi All,
    I am having similar problems, I have wicd installed, I have manually uninstalled kNetwork manager and moved wicd to the top of the backend list. All the same I am still getting a "bad password" error message when I try to log on. (and yes, I've checked my password) I was running 9.04 persistently off of a USB drive, but for some reason things aren't so easy with 10.04.

I'm a total newbie to all this so any support would be really appreciated. Thanks!

Re: [Solved] Wicd not recognizing my password

Follow the link in SteveTaylor's reply.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Wicd not recognizing my password

Hi All,
      Since installing Kubuntu 10.04 on my dell e6400 I can't get my wireless connection to work. I have wicd installed, I have manually uninstalled kNetwork manager and moved wicd to the top of the backend list.

All the same I am getting a "bad password" error message when I try to log on. (and yes, I've checked my password) I was running 9.04 persistently off of a USB drive, but for some reason things aren't so easy with 10.04.

This has come up in this post as well: http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3111340.0 but I seem to have done everything mentioned there and it hasn't helped.

I'm a total newbie to all this so any support would be really appreciated. Thanks!

Comment

Re: Wicd not recognizing my password

Just another bit of information: I tried connecting to unsecured public network this morning. After about a minute I got the message "Connection Failed: Unable to Get IP Address" so the problem seem to run deeper than just the password issue.

I also forgot to mention that I've got the broadcom sta driver installed, I had tried with the earlier driver but that didn't help.