Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Install VirtualBox on Lucid with Windows XP as "guest" - simple instructions

All in one, and what a leap ahead!

I am now heavily modifying and simplifying this post, having recently installed VirtualBox for the second time, on a new laptop.

I prefer Kubuntu to all the OS I have used ( MAC OSX – many, Windows – allince MS DOS). But I still need Windows for a couple of work-related applications. So I have been running triple boot systems (one for my preferred Kubuntu version, one for a test Kubuntu version, and one for Windows. Mind you, I am no computer expert, I just like good tools.

Running double-boot systems is terribly time-consuming. But now I have finally tried VIRTUALBOX, and I just have to tell you how very simple it is to set up. I had spent hours and hours preparing and reading about it, and some details seemed extremely complicated. But when I actually got down to it, it was so simple that I think that any Kubuntu user could do it, at least if they have the same physical point of departure as I do. I want to try to convey this simplicity now.

What I started with
    1) Kubuntu Lucid Lynx installed from scratch and fully updated
    2) Lots of hard disk space (more than 100 GB)
    3) At least 2 GB RAM (running two OS simultaneously on less is very sluggish, as pointed out in a reply to this post)
    4) A CD and a full license for Windows XP (not just for an OEM) NB: I do not think this can be done with an OEM!

What I wanted
    1) Windows XP installed virtually on top of my Kubuntu, so that I could have both OS on my screen and switch freely between them.
    2) To be able to install a few proprietary (and expensive!) applications on my Windows

Download and install VirltualBox package
    (Completely altered on 30 August 2010)