This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I want my old sudo password back

I don't even remember doing it, but my sudo password changed. It changed to another password that I was able to find, however I do not want that password as my sudo password. In System Settings, when I attempt to change it back, a window opens saying it is not a difficult enough password. How do I force my computer to accept my change? Thanks! I hate it when my freedoms are impinged upon. I don't want anyone making decisions for me. I have been using it for 20 years. Thanks and sorry for the attitude.

Alternatives...

The Kubuntu is using the User Manager:

You could try with the KDE KUser: https://www.kubuntuforums.net/showth...ser-Management

or cli: man passwd / http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/.../passwd.1.html
    Last edited by Rog132; Jul 21, 2014, 01:49 PM.
    A good place to start: Topic: Top 20 Kubuntu FAQs & Answers
    Searching FAQ's: Google Search 'FAQ from Kubuntuforums'

Comment

I really don't care that my password should be longer. I still want what I want, to the extent that I will reinstall if I have to. I go in and out of Root all the time. Because of missing part of one finger, I make a lot of mistakes when I type, especially when using upper-row symbols. And since Windows users bear the brunt of most of the problem, just having a password has kept my computer free from intrusion.

The only time I don't seem to have a problem getting my way in the issue is by making my choice when installing. Then I am allowed the password of my choice. I don't look forward to reinstalling applications and re-configuring everything. It takes a long time.