Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Thermal Monitor widget need to be reloaded every time I login in order to show temps.

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    5
    Threads
    3
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    04:16 AM

    Thermal Monitor widget need to be reloaded every time I login in order to show temps.

    Hello people!

    This is a minor issue and it does not effect me that much but its getting annoying and I would like to know why is it doing that and if there is any way to fix it.

    So, I Installed the Thermal Monitor widget as an easy way to check my temps fast. It works great and it shows my CPU and GPU temps with no problem.
    The only problem is that it does not show my temps when I login automatically. Both temps say "OFF" and I need to right click and reload every time for it to work.
    I tried waiting for it but it stays "OFF". Only way is for me to reload every time.

    Is this fixable?

    I use Kubuntu 19.10 and kernel 5.3.0

    Thanks!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Ascendant GreyGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    16,480
    Threads
    1169
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:16 PM
    You have that problem on 19.10. I have the same problem on 20.04.

    I have loaded every sensor daemon and app in the repository. I have set the Thermal Monitor to use all of the acpi AND lm sensors and none load the CPU temp when the desktop displays. I always have to right mouse on the widget and reload the temperature sources. If I edit the Thermal Monitor settings, make a change, and the hit the "Apply" button the CPU temp displays.

    I suspect that a line in the code which is called after hitting the apply button in the Thermal Monitor configuration windows is not being applied during when the Thermal Widget is updating during the initial display of the desktop.

    While researching it I discovered that it is a problem that affects a LOT of distros and is a regression of a problem that is at least 4 years old.
    https://github.com/kotelnik/plasma-a...itor/issues/53
    Last edited by GreyGeek; Mar 26th 2020 at 05:01 PM.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Insert Pithy Nothingness here claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    8,239
    Threads
    228
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    12:16 AM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    https://store.kde.org/p/998915

    the widget has not been updated by the author since 2017, but reviews for it lead to this, which may help:
    https://forum.manjaro.org/t/plasma5-...perature/71587

    or build the widget using patched sources
    https://github.com/agurenko/plasma-a...hermal-monitor

    When looking at widgets and the like using the Get New Stuff applet, I generally click the link to the KDE store page and look at reviews and for how old it is.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    5
    Threads
    3
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    04:16 AM
    Hmm, I get it. Well, muscle memory does it for me everytime so..
    Anyway, thank you for replying guys!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Ascendant GreyGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    16,480
    Threads
    1169
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:16 PM
    Claydoh, that widget that you linked to on the kde.store link IS the Thermal Monitor widget that is obtained when you download the Thermal Monitor widgets to your desktop. I checked the solution given in the second link you posted, that is to the manjaro webpage, and noticed that the ui-main.qml is different from the one installed from the widgets tool. I overwrote it with the manjaro solution and will see if that works.

    EDIT: Overwriting the ui/main.qml with the source from your second link did work. My CPU now loads the temperature, although it takes about 3X as long as the others to load.
    Last edited by GreyGeek; Mar 28th 2020 at 01:43 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •