Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Ocrad

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Contributing Member Keith Sayers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    82
    Threads
    25
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    08:26 PM

    Ocrad

    I have downloaded and installed OCRAD (for optical character recognition) but it does not run, not even from the command line - could anyone suggest why not, please? Or suggest an alternative? Thank you. :)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Ascendant Snowhog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Columbia Heights, MN
    Posts
    20,595
    Threads
    1012
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    05:26 AM
    You say you "downloaded and installed" this application. Did you do so from the regular Ubuntu repositories, i.e., did you use Muon Package Manager or the CLI (sudo apt-get install ocrad)? Also, here is the link to the online manual: https://www.gnu.org/software/ocrad/m...ad_manual.html
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    Twin Cities Bicycling Club - "And miles to go before I sleep."

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Contributing Member Keith Sayers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    82
    Threads
    25
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    08:26 PM
    I used the Muon Package Manager.

    Meantime I have checked permissions. I found it was using Advanced Permissions (but why?). So I went to Konsole with 'ls -l' and found : Owner read and write ; Group read; and Others read. Used CHOWN and CHGROUP to change owner and group to 'keith' - that took me back from advanced to normal permissions. Back to desktop, Owner Can Read and Write, Group Can Read, Others Can Read and the 'is executable' block filled in. Tried again to run it and it tried for a moment or two but then stopped. I seem to be still stuck ...

    That reference to the manual - true, but that helps only when you have got it up and running.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Ascendant Snowhog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Columbia Heights, MN
    Posts
    20,595
    Threads
    1012
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    05:26 AM
    Well, in my 20.04 installation, ocrad doesn't have a GUI; it's a CLI tool only. Given that, from the CLI, ocra requires one (or more) options and a specified input file(s). In a konsole type: man ocrad
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    Twin Cities Bicycling Club - "And miles to go before I sleep."

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Kubuntu as a Second Language
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,884
    Threads
    68
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    10:26 PM
    I gave ocrad a try, and I wonder what you meant by "does not run". For me, it ran but did nothing. If you just run "ocrad" it silently processes standard input and does nothing. I gave it some screenshots, and even with very big 20 point font text it produced nothing.

    xsane, the scanner programme I use, uses gocr for optical character recognition. I gave it a try and it struggled on a letter from a bank, for example:
    Code:
    Changes _o help pratect you and your account - yauil start to notice extra checks when
    you're shoppìng and banking antine, and also when you_e paying someone new to hetp you
    It did better with the 20 point font screenshot, not perfect but only 4 errors in 800 bytes.
    Regards, John Little

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Contributing Member Keith Sayers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    82
    Threads
    25
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    08:26 PM
    > Well, in my 20.04 installation

    Hmmmmm - is Kubuntu 20.04 now available? I had thought of waiting for that.

    > I wonder what you meant by "does not run".

    That when I click the icon I briefly get an icon down on the task manager with the blue ring circling, but that then stops and nothing more happens. If I use the K symbol at bottom left corner and search for OCRAD I am offered 'run OCRAD' but a click on that just drops the pop up list - no other reaction on screen.

    > it ran but did nothing

    How long did you have to wait before it ran?

    > xsane, the scanner programme I use

    I might have a look at that but as the original need has now passed I might just give up, but my thanks to everyone who has tried to help.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Kubuntu Padawan Don B. Cilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ibiza, Spain
    Posts
    1,132
    Threads
    57
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    12:26 PM
    20.04 has been available for a while. It hasn't been released yet, but you can get a pre-release ISO.
    I find it quite solid as it is. Better than 18.04 in just about every respect.

    I tried gocr (command line) a while ago with pretty dismal results.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Ascendant GreyGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    16,475
    Threads
    1168
    Local Date
    May 29th 2020
    Local Time
    05:26 AM
    Maybe it's not recognizing the character set created from an image made from at least a 300 dpi resolution?
    From the OCRAD manual:
    2 Character sets

    The character set internally used by ocrad is ISO 10646, also known as UCS (Universal Character Set), which can represent over two thousand million characters (2^31).
    As it is unpractical to try to recognize one among so many different characters, you can tell ocrad what character sets to recognize. You do this with the '--charset' option.
    If the input page contains characters from only one character set, say 'ISO-8859-15', you can use the default 'byte' output format. But in a page with 'ISO-8859-9' and 'ISO-8859-15' characters, you can't tell if a code of 0xFD represents a 'latin small letter i dotless' or a 'latin small letter y with acute'. You should use '--format=utf8' instead. Of course, you may request UTF-8 output in any case.
    Around 2006 I was asked to ocr about 800 images of legal documents and was given the opportunity to choose the OCR app that I wanted. I tried the one that came with SuSE 6.3 at the time, ocrad. My first few scans product about one error per sentence, sometimes more. Very sensitive and touchy to scan settings, and no column or block recognition at the time. So, I got permission to purchase Abbyy FineReader, from Russia. It bound itself to the GPU of the machine I was using and couldn't be installed on a second machine. It was amazing. IIRC, the error rate was about one error per 10 pages. It included spell checking, which increased its accuracy significantly, and the output was laid out like the image, in blocks and columns, in formats which included .doc, .xls, html, pdf, cvs and more. The process was so easy that they quickly gave the job to a clerk and I got a new monitor.

    The Abbyy site says that they are "out of stock".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •