X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Open as Administrator in Dolphin [right click]

I am a Newbie and Loving Kubuntu.

Looking for "Open as Root" on right click in Dolphin.

I did install....

Configure Dolphin>>>Services>>>Download New Services>>>Simple Root Actions Menu but that does not give just a basic "open as root" option.

Can someone point me in right direction?

Thanks.

In the very rare occasion I use Dolphin as root I go to terminal and type: sudo dolphin

You could make a short cut icon using the same and it should prompt you for password. I use root mostly to fix things at a terminal window level.

Comment

You want to install "Root Action Servicemenu" ( http://kde-apps.org/content/show.php?content=48411 ). It has more options than Simple Root Actions, including the "open as root" you are looking for. You can install it through Dolphin "Configure Dolphin ->Services -> Download New Services" and search "Root Actions" as long as you have Ruby installed on your system.
      Nowadays I'm mostly Mac, but...
      tron: KDE neon User | MacPro5,1 | 3.2GHz Xeon | 48GB RAM | 250GB, 1TB, & 500GB Samsung SSDs | Nvidia GTX 980 Ti

Comment

I would also recommend root actions menu. But if you are going to use terminal, you should use kdesudo or gksudo.

From Ubuntu Documentation.

Graphical sudo

You should never use normal sudo to start graphical applications as Root. You should use gksudo (kdesudo on Kubuntu) to run such programs. gksudo sets HOME=~root, and copies .Xauthority to a tmp directory. This prevents files in your home directory becoming owned by Root. (AFAICT, this is all that's special about the environment of the started process with gksudo vs. sudo).
        Examples:
        gksudo gedit /etc/fstabor
        kdesudo kate /etc/X11/xorg.conf
        • [*=left]To run the graphical configuration utilities, simply launch the application via the Administration menu.
          [*=left]gksudo and kdesudo simply link to the commands gksu and kdesu