X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

nvidia: this driver is activated but not in use

Hi,

I installed kubuntu 12.10 yesterday and i am new to linux. I have nvidia geforce video card in my laptop. I installed nvidia driver from "additional drivers" option in kubuntu. After installing nvidia driver i restarted computer and during boot it shows the pic of nvidia as well. But problem is that when i check the "additional drivers" utility it says:

"this driver is activated but not in use"

I have searched over the internet but didnt find any useful info. Can anybody help me to fix it? Is it possible that it is simply a bug and actually nvidia driver is installed and running.

Any help would be of great value.

Does your BIOS have the ability to either select which chip you want active or disable the Intel chip?
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

I dont think so.

Comment

First off, exactly what model is your nvidia geforce card? That might help everyone have more ideas.

Second, what does it state under "KInfocenter -> Graphical Information -> OpenGL -> OpenGL/ES version"? This will tell you what graphics driver is currently in use by your system. BTW, KInfocenter can be found in the menu under "Applications -> System".
        Nowadays I'm mostly Mac, but...
        tron: KDE neon User | MacPro5,1 | 3.2GHz Xeon | 48GB RAM | 250GB, 1TB, & 500GB Samsung SSDs | Nvidia GTX 980 Ti

Comment

Hi benny. My Nvidia card is GeForce GT 420M and i attached the snapshot of "KInfocenter -> Graphical Information -> OpenGL -> OpenGL/ES version".
          Click image for larger version

Name:	snapshot1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	640228

What you think?

Comment