This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Making" a Driver Package

Good evening, All. I'm new to Kubuntu, and Linux as well. I'm definitely learning a ton and it's refreshing to work with an open source format (vs. Windows).

I played around with Ubuntu (12.04), and I was able to successfully "make" a driver for an external (USB-based) sound card (Mbox 2 Mini). However, I'm not able to accomplish the same thing with Kubuntu. The following is the output from the error that's occurring in the terminal:

Code:
    audiosyncrasy@audiosyncrasy:~/Downloads/mbox2-kernel$ make
    make -C /lib/modules/3.5.0-17-generic/build M=/home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.5.0-17-generic'
      CC [M]  /home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/pcm.o
    /home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/pcm.c: In function ‘snd_usb_pcm_check_knot’:
    /home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/pcm.c:688:4: error: assignment of read-only location ‘*(subs->rate_list.list + (sizetype)((long unsigned int)count++ * 4ul))’
    In file included from /home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/pcm.c:29:0:
    /home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/pcm.c: At top level:
    /home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/quirks.h:23:12: warning: ‘mbox2_skip_setting_quirk’ declared ‘static’ but never defined [-Wunused-function]
    /home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/quirks.h:26:12: warning: ‘snd_usb_mbox2_boot_quirk’ declared ‘static’ but never defined [-Wunused-function]
    make[2]: *** [/home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel/pcm.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/home/audiosyncrasy/Downloads/mbox2-kernel] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.5.0-17-generic'
    make: *** [all] Error 2
    Thank you all, in advance, for your assistance!

A link to the driver might help here, the driver might possibly need patching for 12.10's kernels.

Comment