This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No sound in KUBUNTU 12.04

hey i'm fairly new to kubuntu and i updated it to 12.04 yesterday but there was no sound in 11.04 & as well as 12.04

i've tried using rm to remove pulse audio to detect some settings as told in http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1845555 and it seems to work until next reboot

i have a sound blaster 5.1VX sound card and even after trying the rm pulse audio command the rear speakers are not working

i've uploaded the stats to

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=a9...04e202d26baf5b

PLEASE HELP !!

if pulseaudio is the culprit, you could try uninstalling it:
    sudo apt-get remove pulseaudio

Comment

If it's just no sound from rear speakers type alsamixer into Konsole and see if rear speakers are muted.
      Press M to mute / unmute
      Using Kubuntu 17.10 64Bit

Comment

I came across this a while ago (for PULSEAUDIO):

Go to /etc/pulse and make a backup of daemon.conf first, then find this line (as sudo):

default-sample-channels = 2

And change it to this:

default-sample-channels = 6

Now you’ll need to restart your system (that way the new change you just made will take effect).

After you reboot, test your sound using:

speaker-test -Dplug:surround51 -c6 -l1 -twav

If you don’t hear audio properly, some of the channels might be muted. To change that, right click on the speaker volume icon in your task bar and select “Open Volume Control”. In the new window that pops up, select Edit” and then “Preferences”.

--- http://www.ubuntulinuxhelp.com/enabl...ntu-804-hardy/
        "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
        "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

This might also be helpful for getting surround sound to work properly.

Comment

Originally posted by arochester View Post
            I came across this a while ago (for PULSEAUDIO):