This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 12.04 LTS 64 bit Black Screen with Intel Based Laptop

Hello. First post here. I am a Kubuntu/Linux noob, for sure. First thing though, Much Praise for Kubuntu 12.04 LTS 64 bit. I love it! It is running very well on my Zotac ZBOX Nano AD10. Very few problems there, all minor. I cannot thank Kubuntu enough for not using "Unity" as Ubuntu 12.04 LTS does.

Now, the problem. I love kubuntu 12.04 LTS 64 bit. I want to also use it on my eMachines e725 laptop as dual boot alongside W7. I was running Mint 8 / W7 dual boot just fine on my e725. However, when trying out Live CDs of more recent linux distros have run into a Black Screen problem after choosing the Try Kubuntu option from the Live CD (and with several other newer distros as well). I can hear Kubuntu (and Ubuntu, and Mint latest) boot up to the "desktop", but in these newer distros I have a totally blacked out screen. Blacked out.

Using the Kubuntu 12.04 LTS Live CD - if I select the nomodeset from the Other Options menu it boots up with video working fine. So I did the full Kubuntu 12.04 install, but now it always boots with totally black screen unless I use the second boot option (safe mode or equiv). Then it boots with full graphics/screen function etc. Works fine until reboot. Then Black Screen again.

I got very frustrated after trying a number of "fixes" and finally deleted the Kubuntu partitions using the Live CD. It hosed W7 but I did a repair and W7 is running fine again.

Question is how (or can) I install Kubuntu 12.04 LTS 64 bit on this laptop with proper functionality of the screen/graphics. I really hope so, as I love Kubuntu 12.04 LTS.

Specs of the eMachines e725 laptop as follows.......

Intel Pentium T4400 dual core processor.
    Mobile Intel® GL40 Express Chipset
    Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
    4 gb DDR3 @ 667 mhz.
    Windows 7 64 bit OS
    250gb SATA 2 hard drive