This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help Me Enjoy [Install] Kubuntu Please

I'm a Linux newbie. Yesterday I downloaded the live version of Ubuntu 14.04.3. After getting a bit familiar with it I was highly impressed; to the point where I now want to install Linux to my laptop. I have decided on Kubuntu after conducting much research and pretty much becoming overwhelmed by it all.

I wish to keep Windows 10 though I hope it's in my past. I know nothing about partitioning and all that kind of thing. I can follow instructions well if they're clear and concise.

I'm ready to download, what do I do?

Thank you
    Kubuntu 14.04 / KDE 4.13.3 / GRUB Version: 0.97-29ubuntu66
    HP15 -
    -f033wm Laptop / CPU: Intel / GPU: Intel Corporation Atom Processor / RAM: 8GB / Hard Drive: 1 each / Seagate / Optical Drive: HP DVDRW GUB0N / Windows 10

Welcome.

The first thing you will need to do is use the Windows 10 Disk Management Utility (or what ever it is called) to shrink the space on the drive that Windows 10 has 'reserved' for itself, which is all of the drive space. Once that is done, you will have unallocated space that can be used for installation of Kubuntu. It is recommended that you prepare this unallocated space with another program -- GParted -- which is free and a downloadable 'live' .iso file. We are going to need other information about your laptop: make and model, and when it was purchased.

Others will chime in here to provide you with the help you have requested and need. So stay tuned!
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Originally posted by Snowhog View Post
      Welcome.