This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Avahi daemon failure

Disclaimer: I'm a linux noob, so I'm capable of almost any elementary error to do with this stuff.

Short version: Any network access freezes the console or desktop that attempts it. After login I get a KDE freeze showing nothing but the splash background. I have a boot failure with Avahi DNS daemon complaining that there are no files in /etc/avahi/services. What do I do now?

Long version:
    I attempted an upgrade from Kubuntu Edgy to Feisty on Friday night, but it froze 13 minutes from completion and gave me an timeout error and froze. After the dist-upgrade log showed two "Nothing's happened for 240 seconds argh" type errors I killed the update manager. I tried to start up the adept manager again, but it was complaining that something else had a lock on the package interface.

I tried kill -9ing stuff that had adept or apt in the name, but couldn't get the GUI interfaces to work. I tried entering "apt-get upgrade", and it complained and told me to enter a dpkg configure type command. So I did that, every time going back to apt-get upgrade and entering the command it told me to (There was another apt-get command with a -f switch, but I was mostly just doing what it told me to do).

Eventually it told me it thought that it thought it was up to date and so I rebooted. The boot log (dunno what it's called, it has a list of boot devices and daemons with [ok] or [fail] next to them) shows a failure for "Avahi mDNS/DNS-SD Daemon". The KDE login screen comes up but then freezes just showing the login wallpaper. If I switch to one of my other consoles any network commands freezes that console: ping, ifconfig, ip addr show, even sudo if I login as a non-root user. I've had a look in my network config file in /etc/networks, and it is the same as it was before the upgrade.