Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Opacity, can we add that ?

  1. Back To Top    #11
    Kubuntu as a Second Language
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,891
    Threads
    68
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    08:49 PM
    This is the responsibility of the theme or the "plasma style" or some such; you might find one that does something like what you want. In my quest for a dark theme that's functional (and so *not* anything like Breeze) I stumbled on a transparent panel.

    Under the hood it's all qml and css. I've tried tweaking the css, with some results, but that's a treacherous path...
    Regards, John Little

  2. Back To Top    #12
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    44
    Threads
    8
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    02:19 PM
    I tried some tweaks. I got through a couple of qml tweaks as well. I thought I will let the themes go if there is any native way of doing this. Nice to learn more about Plasma. Thanks.

  3. Back To Top    #13
    Senior Member Schwarzer Kater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Europe (Germany)
    Posts
    104
    Threads
    7
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    10:49 AM

    How to make the K-Menu, and panels, transparent

    now I was curious how to make my K-Menu (slightly) transparent!

    There is no option in KDE System Setting for this, indeed - therefor you have to do it by hand:

    1. If they are not already there, create the according plasma and desktoptheme directories in your /home-folder:
    Code:
    $ cd /home/.local/share
    $ mkdir plasma plasma/desktoptheme
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20200525_034731.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	11.9 KB 
ID:	8914

    2. Make a folder with the name of your new, personal Plasma Theme and put a link to the colour scheme in there, which you want to use for it (e.g. I linked mine to /usr/share/plasma/desktoptheme/breeze-dark/colors).

    3. The next step is to create a metadata.desktop file that contains the informations about the transparency of your K-Menu (and all of your panels, as they are automatically affected, too!):
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Name=Milky Way
    
    Comment=Breeze Dark Milky Way by Schwarzer Kater
    
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Author=Schwarzer Kater
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Email=dummy@dummy.org
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Name=Milky_Way
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Version=0.1
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Website=
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Category=
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Depends=
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-License=GPL
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-EnabledByDefault=true
    X-Plasma-API=5.57
    
    [ContrastEffect]
    # defaults in Breeze = true / 0.2 / 0.4 / 1.7
    enabled=true
    contrast=0.2
    intensity=0.6
    saturation=1.7
    
    [BlurBehindEffect]
    # default = true
    enabled=false
    If you want maximum transparency, set both [ContrastEffect] and [BlurBehindEffect] to false.
    Values below [ContrastEffect] are ignored, if it is set to false, as far as I can tell.

    Feel free to experiment! :-) Here is some additional information about Plasma Themes:
    https://techbase.kde.org/Development...Theme_Metadata

    4. Now you can choose your new Plasma Theme in KDE System Settings -> Appearance.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20200525_043720.png 
Views:	24 
Size:	106.6 KB 
ID:	8915

    PS: As stated in the link to KDE TechBase above, [BlurBehindEffect] can only be modified since KDE Frameworks 5.57 and later.

    PPS: I made the experience that every time you change any values for [ContrastEffect] or [BlurBehindEffect] you have to log out and in again for all of the changes to take effect in combination - just switching to another theme and back does not work for all changes to take place.
    Last edited by Schwarzer Kater; May 27th 2020 at 01:42 PM. Reason: typos, as usual and PS and PPS
    Private desktop: Kubuntu 20.04 & 18.04 Windows 7 Shuttle XPC SG31G2 V2
    Asus Radeon HD 3450 Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550s 4 GB RAM 512 GB Kingston KC600 SSD
    Private laptop: Kubuntu 20.04 macOS X 14 Apple MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012)
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 Intel Core i5-3210M 8 GB RAM 1 TB HGST HD

  4. Back To Top    #14
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    44
    Threads
    8
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    02:19 PM
    Thank you. Feels like god's hand of help. I have almost given up on this.

    I used the Light version. Looks like Blur still works even if we set Contrast=False.

    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Author= KDE Visual Design Group
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Email=kde-artists@kde.org
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Name=Way
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Version=1.0
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Website=https://plasma.kde.org
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Category=
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-Depends=
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-License=LGPL
    X-KDE-PluginInfo-EnabledByDefault=true
    X-Plasma-API=5.0

    [Wallpaper]
    defaultWallpaperTheme=Next
    defaultFileSuffix=.png
    defaultWidth=1920
    defaultHeight=1080

    [ContrastEffect]
    enabled=false
    contrast=0.2
    intensity=0.6
    saturation=1.7

    [BlurBehindEffect]
    enabled=true
    For better effects ( too much transparency ), I used Keepin theme's background.svg and panel-background.svg . It helps control the colour, noise and transparency value. Now I have a variant of included theme with blur and transparency.

  5. Back To Top    #15
    Insert Pithy Nothingness here claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    8,243
    Threads
    228
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    04:49 AM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    I completely forgot to mention some tweakability in the blur behind the transparency, via Desktop Effects, namely the...... Blur one, which has some sliders to play with. Sometimes the Contrast effect can change the look of anything relating to text here as well.

  6. Back To Top    #16
    Senior Member Schwarzer Kater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Europe (Germany)
    Posts
    104
    Threads
    7
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    10:49 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Grahm View Post
    […]
    Looks like Blur still works even if we set Contrast=False.
    […]
    If blur works has nothing to do with [ContrastEffect] being true or false.

    You have to log out and in again for all of the changes to take effect every time you change anything (sorry I forgot to mention that above - added it).
    Private desktop: Kubuntu 20.04 & 18.04 Windows 7 Shuttle XPC SG31G2 V2
    Asus Radeon HD 3450 Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550s 4 GB RAM 512 GB Kingston KC600 SSD
    Private laptop: Kubuntu 20.04 macOS X 14 Apple MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012)
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 Intel Core i5-3210M 8 GB RAM 1 TB HGST HD

  7. Back To Top    #17
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    44
    Threads
    8
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    02:19 PM
    Thanks @clydoh , I will check

    @SchwarzerKater

    Thanks. If I may, enabling another Look and feel theme and coming back to the custom Breeze is also working. But you are right. Logout will be the right way to do it.

    A trivial question, I got Splash screen come with breeze theme I copied. And tried to change rectangle > black to rectangle > blue, or another hex value. But whatever colour I input, it still shows the same black colour. Something somewhere is calling the colour black overriding the custom blue.

  8. Back To Top    #18
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    44
    Threads
    8
    Local Date
    Jun 7th 2020
    Local Time
    02:19 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by claydoh View Post
    I completely forgot to mention some tweakability in the blur behind the transparency, via Desktop Effects, namely the... Blur one, which has some sliders to play with. Sometimes the Contrast effect can change the look of anything relating to text here as well.
    Thanks. I just tried. Blur is too weak in the default effect. It is almost see through even when we set Noise and Blur at " Strong ". Also, transparency does not affect the K Menu much. But it is nice to have a native option.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •