Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: neon - Holy cow Batman

  1. Back To Top    #21
    Esteemed Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    597
    Threads
    16
    Local Date
    Jun 1st 2020
    Local Time
    12:05 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by claydoh View Post
    Well, it can if you run it manually with the -b switch. I think that this undocumented option is still valid. But that's beside the point. The installer is old and Ubuntu really needs to redo it, let alone update the plasma interface to match features with the gtk gui
    undocumented?
    Code:
    $ ubiquity --help
    
    Usage: ubiquity [options] [frontend]
    
    Options:
    --version            show program's version number and exit
    -h, --help           show this help message and exit
    -d, --debug          debug mode (warning: passwords will be logged!)
    --pdb                drop into Python debugger on a crash
    --cdebconf           use cdebconf instead of debconf (experimental)
    --automatic          do not ignore the "seen" flag (useful for unattended
                       installations).
    --only               tell the application that it is the only desktop
                       program running so that it can customize its UI to
                       better suit a minimal environment.
    -q, --query          find out which frontend will be used by default
    -g, --greeter        allow the user to leave the installer and enter a live
                       desktop (for the initial boot).
    -b, --no-bootloader  Do not install a bootloader.
    --ldtp               Name widgets in ATK by their GtkBuilder names, to
                       support LDTP testing.
    --autopilot          Export variables needed for autopilot to drive ubiquity
                       UI.
    --wireless           Force enable the wireless page, even if network is
                       available.

  2. Back To Top    #22
    Insert Pithy Nothingness here claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    8,238
    Threads
    228
    Local Date
    Jun 1st 2020
    Local Time
    10:05 AM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/...biquity.8.html

    and other references that also had mentioned it as undocumented.

    manpages are normally the most comprehensive lists of options and switches. Try and find help pages for something you don't have installed

  3. Back To Top    #23
    Esteemed Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    597
    Threads
    16
    Local Date
    Jun 1st 2020
    Local Time
    12:05 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by claydoh View Post
    http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/...biquity.8.html

    and other references that also had mentioned it as undocumented.

    manpages are normally the most comprehensive lists of options and switches. Try and find help pages for something you don't have installed
    I noticed the 'man' page didn't reflect 'b' option.

  4. Back To Top    #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    12
    Threads
    2
    Local Date
    Jun 1st 2020
    Local Time
    08:05 PM
    I've always preferred LTS releases. I've had problems with bleeding edge projects like Arch or Manjaro. Manjaro KDE was my first KDE distro and my experience wasn't good. Kubuntu Focal is running pretty slick though. If I had another machine I would've given KDE neon a shot (I have tried it via a live USB, would tinker with it in a VM soon). Since it gets the latest applications, I have my doubts whether something would get broken or not!

  5. Back To Top    #25
    Kubuntu as a Second Language
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,889
    Threads
    68
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    02:05 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by verndog View Post
    For one, I use my own grub.cfg. I keep it safe so when update-grub comes along I can easily copy it back to the grub folder.
    Mine is much smaller and easy to change UUID's.
    Fantastic, glad to hear it. I beat this drum often on KFN and the grub mailing list, I fear too often.

    I wonder why you keep using UUIDs. I use partition labels, they're much simpler, and easy to remember, at the price of having to make sure the labels are good. Here's my grub.cfg code to boot Kubuntu:
    Code:
      search --no-floppy --set=root --label "main"
      linux /@/boot/vmlinuz root=LABEL=main ro rootflags=subvol=@
      initrd /@/boot/initrd.img
    Regards, John Little

  6. Back To Top    #26
    Ancient vinnywright's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    8,006
    Threads
    178
    Local Date
    Jun 1st 2020
    Local Time
    02:05 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by claydoh View Post
    Well, it can if you run it manually with the -b switch. I think that this undocumented option is still valid. But that's beside the point. The installer is old and Ubuntu really needs to redo it, let alone update the plasma interface to match features with the gtk gui
    that is exactly how I installed Kubuntu-18.04 to this ssd that is a "hole disk" BTRFS file system and as such has no space for grub.

    VINNY
    i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
    16GB RAM
    Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores

  7. Back To Top    #27
    Esteemed Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    597
    Threads
    16
    Local Date
    Jun 1st 2020
    Local Time
    12:05 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by jlittle View Post
    Fantastic, glad to hear it. I beat this drum often on KFN and the grub mailing list, I fear too often.

    I wonder why you keep using UUIDs. I use partition labels, they're much simpler, and easy to remember, at the price of having to make sure the labels are good. Here's my grub.cfg code to boot Kubuntu:
    Code:
     search --no-floppy --set=root --label "main"
     linux /@/boot/vmlinuz root=LABEL=main ro rootflags=subvol=@
     initrd /@/boot/initrd.img
    Usually its stated to use UUID instead of device name.
    Give me the complete menu {} stance please so I can compute.

  8. Back To Top    #28
    Kubuntu as a Second Language
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,889
    Threads
    68
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    02:05 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnywright View Post
    that is exactly how I installed Kubuntu-18.04 to this ssd that is a "hole disk" BTRFS file system and as such has no space for grub.
    (Presuming you mean "whole", with no partition table.)
    Where is the EFI system partition? IIUC a UEFI system needs one of those somewhere. (Hmm, I wonder how long that will be the case.)

    Grub is quite happy with just the .efi executable in the ESP, and a grub directory somewhere on a btrfs, not necessarily in the default /@/boot. (I use it's own subvolume /@grub, so that I can snapshot it, back it up, etc.)
    Regards, John Little

  9. Back To Top    #29
    Kubuntu as a Second Language
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,889
    Threads
    68
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    02:05 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by verndog View Post
    Usually its stated to use UUID instead of device name.
    The "device" names are problematic, because they can change from boot to boot. But, you can control the labels, they won't change unless you change them, so they're an alternative to device names too.

    Quote Originally Posted by verndog View Post
    Give me the complete menu {} stance please so I can compute.
    Code:
    menuentry 'Kubuntu'  {
      search --no-floppy --set=root --label "main"
      linux /@/boot/vmlinuz root=LABEL=main ro rootflags=subvol=@
      initrd /@/boot/initrd.img
    }
    Note that:
    • The rootflags=subvol phrase is specific for booting from a btrfs.
    • /boot/vmlinux and /boot/initrd.img are sym-links to the latest kernel and initrd, and are maintained by APT when a new kernel arrives. I don't know why Grub doesn't use them normally. Using them means the grub.cfg doesn't have to be updated for new kernels.
    • Sym-links within a btrfs work everywhere, and they work in /etc/fstab too. I usually keep a grub entry called "ubuntu from link", and just recreate the root and home links if I want to boot to an install I'm testing. (I have to fix up the /etc/fstab to use the links, I haven't found a way to avoid that.)
    Regards, John Little

  10. Back To Top    #30
    Ancient vinnywright's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    8,006
    Threads
    178
    Local Date
    Jun 1st 2020
    Local Time
    02:05 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by jlittle View Post
    (Presuming you mean "whole", with no partition table.)
    Where is the EFI system partition? IIUC a UEFI system needs one of those somewhere. (Hmm, I wonder how long that will be the case.)

    Grub is quite happy with just the .efi executable in the ESP, and a grub directory somewhere on a btrfs, not necessarily in the default /@/boot. (I use it's own subvolume /@grub, so that I can snapshot it, back it up, etc.)
    Well your assuming I have UEFI , I do not on this box .

    grub is handled by a different system(Neon-testing) on a different drive and uses an entry in /etc/grub.d/40_custom to boot that looks like this

    Code:
    menuentry 'Kubuntu-18.04' {
    insmod btrfs
    set root='(hd2)'
    linux /@/vmlinuz root=UUID=fe385e89-57a5-4632-9823-043a70b67c65 rootflags=subvol=@ ro quiet splash
    initrd /@/initrd.img
    }
    VINNY
    i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
    16GB RAM
    Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •