X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To format or not to format

"To format or not to format, that is the question."
    - Shakespeare

(Not that one, but Billy Bob Shakespeare. He and his wife Wanda live near the Nashville Wal-mart and he picks a little guitar when he's not messing with his computer. )

With the final beta release of 20.04, I am now seriously thinking about the upgrade. As most of us have time on our hands with the virus lockdown, I too am looking for interesting activities to fill the days.

Through my 20+ years with Linux, I've usually used three partitions, root, swap and home. When upgrading, I've always reformatted the root partition and often reformatted the home partition too, after backing up my data. It takes some work, as the data must be copied back, programs must be configured and in some cases, re-installed and configured.

I'm always open to different ideas though. Is there a better way to do it? I'm a Kubuntu newbie and would appreciate your opinions.

Mick
    "Strange memories on this nervous night in Las Vegas."
    Hunter S. Thompson

In part, it depends on what version of Kubuntu you are currently running. IF it's 19.10 AND you don't have any third-party PPAs in use AND you don't have non-repository (supported and/or PPA) applications installed -- downloaded from the 'Net and installed manually -- performing a version upgrade to 20.04 (from the command line) should be straight forward. Take a look at this: https://linuxconfig.org/how-to-upgra...ts-focal-fossa
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

I have for many years now upgraded in place. No formatting. I use a number of PPAs and have at times had some manually installed non-repo packages for software, and have had zero issue upgrading for those years.