Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Installer doesn't see SSD hard drive, and stops, citing insufficient space

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    5
    Threads
    1
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    08:29 AM

    Installer doesn't see SSD hard drive, and stops, citing insufficient space

    New Guy here:

    I've been using Kubuntu on my desktop for two years now.

    I bought a new laptop:
    Lenovo ideapad s340
    8G RAM
    Intel Core i3-1005G1 CPU @ 120GHz
    250 GB SSD
    64 bit

    I am trying to install the kubuntu 18.04.4-desktop-amd64 LTS onto my laptop. I get the same error when I try installing a different distribution (just to see if it's a Kubuntu install thing (Elementary))

    Three steps into the process, after confirming that my keyboard layout is English, the installer tells me that my 4GB of space does not meet the minimum of 8 needed. Interestingly enough, my USB .iso stick is 4GB.

    MY 250GB SSD has Window 10 preloaded with the new computer, and I even shrunk the volume to create a new NTFS partition of 160GB, but the installer still does not see it.

    What up?

    I presume at this point, there must be something to toggle on or off on the BIOS end?

    Anyone know what to do?

    Many thanks,
    Andre
    Last edited by Andre Nogues; Mar 24th 2020 at 07:32 PM.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Ascendant Snowhog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Columbia Heights, MN
    Posts
    20,510
    Threads
    1008
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    10:29 AM
    Change the newly created partitions FS (filesystem) to EXT4 or if you desire, BTRFS. I don't think (but I could be wrong, except for your statement to the contrary) the installer can see an NTFS partition.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    Twin Cities Bicycling Club - "And miles to go before I sleep."

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Fat dude on a fixie claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    7,973
    Threads
    223
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    11:29 AM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    Three steps into the process, after confirming that my keyboard layout is English, the installer tells me that my 4GB of space does not meet the minimum of 8 needed. Interestingly enough, my USB .iso stick is 4GB.
    This has nothing to do with the USB stick, but I am not sure what it means, unless you are somehow pointing the installer to that stick.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    5
    Threads
    1
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    08:29 AM
    Thanks for help thus far.

    WIndows Disk Management Tool only allows me to make the newly-created drive NTFS or exFAT.

    I can now load gparted from startup, but Gparted does not see my SSD drive either.

    What tool can I use at startup (.iso) to completely wipe my SSD and then format it to EXT4 or BTRFS?

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    5
    Threads
    1
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    08:29 AM
    I'm not smart enough (yet) to know how to point the installer to the USB stick that the installer is on. I am trying to figure out why the Kubuntu 18.04.4 installer does not see my 250GB SSD drive.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Fat dude on a fixie claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    7,973
    Threads
    223
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    11:29 AM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    Ok, as it does not see the SSD, that might explain things, as the only drive it sees is the USB stick

    This is a Lenovo laptop, which means the SSD is likely set in the bios to use Intel's RST raid, which unfortunately does not support Linux, so you have to go into your laptop's firmware settings and switch it to AHCI. This is not specific to Lenovo, actually, as many do set this option for whatever reason.

    However, this will mess windows up, so you will need to follow these steps before installing Kubuntu, and make sure that this is booting correctly first:

    https://support.thinkcritical.com/kb...id-ide-to-ahci


    Also, some useful links for installing that may be helpful as visual references:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...ture=emb_title

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...ture=emb_title
    Last edited by claydoh; Yesterday at 04:57 PM.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Esteemed Member Don B. Cilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ibiza, Spain
    Posts
    865
    Threads
    45
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    04:29 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Andre Nogues View Post
    ... the Kubuntu 18.04.4 installer does not see my 250GB SSD drive.

    What drives does the partition manager see? Is it... blank? I've encountered countless installation problems, this is... totally new

    [EDIT] Oh well. I wish vBulletin would warn of new posts like SMF does :·/

    [EDIT 2] I guess the OP is not really worried about messing Windows up, though :·)

    Quote Originally Posted by Andre Nogues View Post
    What tool can I use at startup (.iso) to completely wipe my SSD and then format it to EXT4 or BTRFS?
    Last edited by Don B. Cilly; Mar 24th 2020 at 07:48 PM.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Fat dude on a fixie claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    7,973
    Threads
    223
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    11:29 AM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    Quote Originally Posted by Don B. Cilly View Post


    [EDIT] Oh well. I wish vBulletin would warn of new posts like SMF does :·/
    I imagine that there would be a plugin for vB that add this functionality. It might be useful, though I don't know why the idea has not come up in all these years, lol.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Esteemed Member Don B. Cilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ibiza, Spain
    Posts
    865
    Threads
    45
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    04:29 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by claydoh View Post
    ... though I don't know why the idea has not come up in all these years, lol.
    Well, it must be just me who always finds a better answer to what I write after I wrote it, then... or is it cognitive bias?

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Fat dude on a fixie claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    7,973
    Threads
    223
    Local Date
    Mar 28th 2020
    Local Time
    11:29 AM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    Quote Originally Posted by Don B. Cilly View Post
    Well, it must be just me who always finds a better answer to what I write after I wrote it, then... or is it cognitive bias?
    It happens to me Alda thyme.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •