Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Discover updater showing the wrong number of updates in the taskbar.

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    39
    Threads
    9
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:05 PM

    Discover updater showing the wrong number of updates in the taskbar.

    Is anyone else having an issue with the Discover updater where its showing the wrong number of updates in the taskbar? Because I am I've noticed this bug for at least the past week or so, for example right now it says I have two updates but when I open the Discover updater it only shows one update.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Esteemed Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lima, Peru
    Posts
    733
    Threads
    117
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    04:05 AM
    Maybe it hasn't discovered how to count yet.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Ancient Qqmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    badlands
    Posts
    7,459
    Threads
    176
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    10:05 PM
    I use Discover all the time for routine updates. It may show in the Task Bar x updates. So you click on the icon, Discover opens, you click on get updates or whatever, and after awhile say y updates appear in the list, where y is a number greater than x. That--I think--is to be expected sometimes, as Discover will do a search after you open it so it gets all updates available at the time you are actually sitting there watching and waiting. Is this what you meant?
    You must act as if you know what you are doing; when, in effect, you know nothing.
    -- Don Juan, Yaqui shaman

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Kubuntu Padawan Don B. Cilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ibiza, Spain
    Posts
    1,147
    Threads
    57
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    06:05 AM
    If I may:
    Try this.
    Make an alias for sudo apt update && sudo apt full-upgrade.
    Next time you see the pesky updates icon, instead of clicking that, open a konsole and run your alias.
    See how you like it.

    It's a lot faster than Discover, it doesn't hog your resources, and it tells you what it's doing in much greater - and informative - detail.
    If you don't like it, you can always go back to Discover.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Esteemed Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lima, Peru
    Posts
    733
    Threads
    117
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    04:05 AM
    I tried the alias technique and it works fine, so I'm staying with it. The only drawback I can see is that if you see that the updates are huge and you haven't got enough time to run them through, you can't stop the process cleanly. But it's the quickest way I've ever used to update, and I thank Don B. Cilly for the tip.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Kubuntu Padawan Don B. Cilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ibiza, Spain
    Posts
    1,147
    Threads
    57
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    06:05 AM
    Well, if you don't use the -y option, you get a Y/n prompt, and it's quite easy to guess the size of the update - the size of the download is explicitly stated before the prompt..
    After a while, your eye gets smart enough to know whether a kernel update is needed.

    Also, if needed, you could pause and restart the job. Like Ctrl-Z and fg... unless you have to reboot...

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Kubuntu as a Second Language jglen490's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montgomery AL
    Posts
    1,605
    Threads
    53
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:05 PM
    I use the icon as an indicator only. Sometimes its count is wrong, but to me it's only an indicator showing that updates are available. I assume it will take time. Two package updates CAN take more time than 4 package updates. So when I'm ready, I go to konsole and run the apt commands. Then let 'er rip! It takes the time that it takes; nothing more, nothing less.
    I feel more like I do now than I did when I got here.
    Home Brew PC: ASRock H110M-HDS R3.0, 120GB+500GB, 16GB RAM
    Kubuntu 18.04.4.LTS Bionic, 5.3.0-53-generic x86_64, Plasma 5.12.9

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Contributing Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    39
    Threads
    9
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:05 PM
    Well it has seemed to fix itself the updates it shows in the system tray now match what shows up in the Discover Software Center/Updater.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    13
    Threads
    1
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:05 PM
    I use the terminal but the update icon never goes away now. Even after a update requiring a reboot, it does not go away. When you click it there is always 1 update and when you wait for it to show, it says there are no updates but, the icon never goes away. Very odd.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Ascendant GreyGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    16,480
    Threads
    1169
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:05 PM
    You might want to try cleaning the apt cache:
    https://blog.sleeplessbeastie.eu/201...the-apt-cache/

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •