Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 54

Thread: No More Dolphin Root Workaround?

  1. Back To Top    #21
    Kubuntu Padawan Don B. Cilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ibiza, Spain
    Posts
    1,147
    Threads
    57
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    05:29 AM
    Yeah, well... brilliant

    And... "don't let it bring you down" * - which I know you won't.
    Teaching and helping people is the best thing we can do as humans. We die, and have to start over. What would we be without teachers.

    Me, I just give "cilly" advice here on what little I know... and some I just guess... because this forum has helped me a lot, and I just try to give back the little I can.
    And first and foremost, claydoh is the one who helped me - and keeps helping others - as (misgivings notwithstanding) he can't help it ;·)
    And a good thing that is for all of us.

    *Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, yes ;·)
    Last edited by Don B. Cilly; Dec 6th 2019 at 09:26 PM.

  2. Back To Top    #22
    Kubuntu Padawan Don B. Cilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ibiza, Spain
    Posts
    1,147
    Threads
    57
    Local Date
    Jun 3rd 2020
    Local Time
    05:29 AM
    I'll add:
    personally, I don't need the workaround, I use Neon.
    And this is the place I learned how to make a root-dolphin menu entry.
    Which didn't work "properly" because I was ignorant, and had my ignorance explained to me.
    (and I'd rather use Krusader as root anyway ;·)

    But I find it brilliant that - after a while, eh :·) - it can be used by others who couldn't use it because:
    even though being too lazy or ignorant may "disqualify" them from having the privilege, in this case...

    - It's not that easy a solution (unless you're... brilliant ;·) - even with rather intensive searching.
    - The risks-rewards-ratio/security-vs-usabilty-tradeoff - in this case does not seem to disqualify the not-brilliant-enough pupils to be allowed - given fair warning.
    - Don't you ever ask them why, if they told you, you will cry,
    - So just look at them and sigh
    - And know they love you.


    --- Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young- Teach Your Children - yes ;·)

  3. Back To Top    #23
    Ascendant GreyGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    16,480
    Threads
    1169
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    10:29 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Don B. Cilly View Post
    ....
    (and I'd rather use Krusader as root anyway ;·)
    My favorite root command tool is mc. I've begun using krusader as root because it is, for all practical purposes, the GUI for mc, even though mc is not running underneath it. IOW, it looks like a GUI version of mc and is laid out the same and offers the same features, but with a GUI.

  4. Back To Top    #24
    Senior Member WWDERW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    "Dixie"
    Posts
    183
    Threads
    16
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    09:29 PM
    I do have one question though, why does this root workaround work when running Kubuntu in a live environment, but it does not after installation? This is a full install, not min, so that isn't an issue there either.

    That's the main concern I have with that. It works on the try out, but not on the final install.

    With regard to Krusader, I am just not a fan, at all.

    As to safe guards, bla bla blah.

    Part of the joy of Linux is being able to have full access to the system and to use it in the manner that you want to. Even if that is messing up that system. If knowledge is power, learning from messing up the system is apart of gaining said power.
    Lenovo Thinkstation: Xeon E5 CPU 32GB ECC Ram KDE Neon

  5. Back To Top    #25
    Kubuntu as a Second Language TWPonKubuntu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Western US
    Posts
    1,289
    Threads
    119
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    08:29 PM
    I have Dolphin running, full install from the repositories, on my 64bit laptop. It DOES NOT allow running as root, as expected.:(
    I then created a "link to application" on the desktop and used the pkexec script found in several threads here. It runs Dolphin as root. ;D

    I'm running Kubuntu 19.04, kernel 5.4.3. Yes, it is now EOL, but it still works and is getting security updates.

    I'm not willing to upgrade to 19.10 because I've read that this kills the pkexec script operation. I don't need anything in 19.11, at this time, so I'll keep this configuration until 20.04 gets full release.
    Last edited by TWPonKubuntu; Dec 7th 2019 at 03:27 PM.
    If You're Not Paranoid Yet, You Should Be. Kubuntu 20.04 64bit under Kernel 5.6.15, Hp Pavilion, 6MB ram.

  6. Back To Top    #26
    Insert Pithy Nothingness here claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    8,239
    Threads
    228
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:29 PM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    Quote Originally Posted by WWDERW View Post
    I do have one question though, why does this root workaround work when running Kubuntu in a live environment, but it does not after installation? This is a full install, not min, so that isn't an issue there either.

    That's the main concern I have with that. It works on the try out, but not on the final install.

    With regard to Krusader, I am just not a fan, at all.

    As to safe guards, bla bla blah.

    Part of the joy of Linux is being able to have full access to the system and to use it in the manner that you want to. Even if that is messing up that system. If knowledge is power, learning from messing up the system is apart of gaining said power.
    Because it is live installer session is running with full privileges, else it would not be able to do very much. I don't recall if it is running in Single User mode, or full root, or (most likely) has an account with full privileges.

  7. Back To Top    #27
    Insert Pithy Nothingness here claydoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Savannah GA
    Posts
    8,239
    Threads
    228
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    11:29 PM
    Homepage: Go to claydoh's homepage
    Quote Originally Posted by TWPonKubuntu View Post
    I have Dolphin running, full install from the repositories, on my 64bit laptop. It DOES NOT allow running as root, as expected.
    I then created a "link to application" on the desktop and used the pkexec script found in several threads here. It runs Dolphin as root.

    I'm running Kubuntu 19.04, kernel 5.4.3. Yes, it is now EOL, but it still works and is getting security updates.

    I'm not willing to upgrade to 19.10 because I've read that this kills the pkexec script operation. I don't need anything in 19.11, at this time, so I'll keep this configuration until 20.04 gets full release.
    As you are on 19.04, you will still have to upgrade to 19.10 before you go to 20.04, there is no skipping possible, unless it is specifically LTS to LTS upgrades.
    And the root dolphin thing is simply a 'missing' package that was no longer needed (and not related to Dolphin or KDE at all).

  8. Back To Top    #28
    Kubuntu as a Second Language TWPonKubuntu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Western US
    Posts
    1,289
    Threads
    119
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    08:29 PM
    Actually, I plan on a fresh install of 20.04, since I have my data backed up.
    If You're Not Paranoid Yet, You Should Be. Kubuntu 20.04 64bit under Kernel 5.6.15, Hp Pavilion, 6MB ram.

  9. Back To Top    #29
    Ascendant GreyGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    16,480
    Threads
    1169
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    10:29 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by TWPonKubuntu View Post
    Actually, I plan on a fresh install of 20.04, since I have my data backed up.
    Ditto!

  10. Back To Top    #30
    Senior Member WWDERW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    "Dixie"
    Posts
    183
    Threads
    16
    Local Date
    Jun 2nd 2020
    Local Time
    09:29 PM
    This is interesting now I'm getting an error msg for root Dolphin due to unable to load xcb plugin. It said that reinstallation of the plugin "may" solve the problem. It did not. It just repeats that error msg after reinstallation of xcb.

    Edit: Apparently it's an issue with using Yakuake. Use Konsole no issue, use Yakuake and that issue shows up.
    Last edited by WWDERW; Dec 28th 2019 at 09:14 PM.
    Lenovo Thinkstation: Xeon E5 CPU 32GB ECC Ram KDE Neon

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •