Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Change Ownership of External Hard Drive?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Change Ownership of External Hard Drive?

I'm very new to Kubuntu, and I have a dual boot setup. My external hard drive works and I can read everything on it. My problem is that I can't save anything to it. The owner is set to root. I have tried using Konsole to change ownership, and it said ownership was changed but it wasn't. The drive is not in media, or in home. When I open Dolphin my hard drive is in root. Konsole also says it is a read-only file system, so I don't know if I need to change ownership or change the read-only status. I need step-by-step instructions if possible. Thanks in advance.

Never mind. Windows was causing the problem. It refused to shutdown completely no matter what I did. I just solved the problem. For those with the same problem, here's how to fix it. Unmount then unplug the external hard drive. Use a partition manager to delete the Windows partitions (there are always at least 2), then create a new partition that Kubuntu can use. Plug the external hard drive back in and let the system mount it, or mount it manually if you don't have automount turned on. Problem solved! I can now edit, delete, and save all files on the external hard drive.

My understanding is if windows is allowed to hibernate rather than shut down, it will make partitions read-only. If the file system in question is ntfs, it doesn't support ownership so that wasn't the issue.

You said "the drive wasn't in media or home..." as it shouldn't be until you mount it. If you open the drive with Dolphin, Dolphin will mount it in /media/<YOUR USERNAME> unless you have defined it in fstab.

Please Read Me

Comment

Originally posted by Susie View Post
      ... external hard drive works and I can read ... I can't save anything to it. The owner is set to root.