This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Installation of 18.04 on HP Pavillion laptop

I have an HP laptop that is (was) a great machine until the HD interface quit working. I bought a new machine and thought I'd try to install Kubuntu on the old one via a thumb drive. Probably would be slow but would give me a chance to play with Ubuntu (I'm a complete Unix newbie).
    I've done a good bit of poking around and have several questions I can't find answers to. I am not able to get the installation to compete
    1. Can I expect an install to run on a machine
      (running from a thumb drive)
      with no HD? I can boot the install and have gotten quite a ways along but it always fails (more on that to follow).
    2. I used balenaEtcher to create a bootable drive on Windows on my good laptop and can boot from that just fine on the target laptop. I am using a second 32GB USB-3 thumb drive as the install target.
    3. Started Kubuntu and chose to Install.
    4. It found that I had an available wireless connection. It showed my home SSID (WPA-2-Personal). I entered the Wi-Fi password but it reported the connection failed. Moved to using a direct ethernet connection.
    5. When I got to the questions about disk setup, I tried various choices. The manual option I found completely befuddling, but the automatic choice to use the entire drive seemed to be useful.

It claimed it would make 3 partitions. The install proceeded quite a ways to the point past where it had downloaded updates from the internet and was doing some sort of user setup. There the install crashed.
    6. When I looked at the target drive with Windows diskpart it showed an EFI boot partition (about 1/2G) with the rest (30G) of the thumb drive as one partition that, of course, was unreadable to Windows.
    7. I never was asked about a Home partition. Do I need to have that right away? I was thinking I would make the Home partition later on an SD card using FAT.