This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Internet] Wifi connection keeps asking for password

Hello and please be gentle, I'm a newbie to both Kubuntu and to linux.

I am using a laptop, Dell e7240.

I installed Kubuntu latest version and all works well.

I can connect to the internet via ethernet port.

I can connect to one wifi network.

But... I cannot connect to another wifi network. It forever asks for the password.

Can anyone please help?

Many thanks

Are you saying, that on the 'other' (wifi) network, it isn't accepting the password you type in, or that it connects, then at some interval, disconnects, requiring that you provide the password again?
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

It won't connect at all to the other wifi network. It simply keeps asking for the password.

On my other laptops I can easily connect to both wifi networks.

Comment

Two possibilities that come to mind. The password you are typing for the second network isn't correct (case matters in passwords) or 'that' network restricts connections to known 'approved' devices and the device you are using isn't. I'm more inclined to believe the former.
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Definitely not the wrong password. I have entered it loads of times on this and other computers. And I always check by actually looking at it - in other words I don't have it hidden with asterisks. Plus its a very simple password!!

And I doubt its the approved devices problem because I have used a total of 6 different wifi devices on that connection.

Thanks though

Comment

Is there a way to completely remove all wifi settings and start afresh?

Comment

Very weird.