Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Kubuntu 18.04 menu bar is missing in all applications

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    12
    Threads
    4
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    02:02 PM

    Kubuntu 18.04 menu bar is missing in all applications

    Hi, I did a fresh installation of kubuntu 18.04. I noted all applications does not have the menu bar. I can not also activate it with Alt key. I checked the styles and system config but I does not find nothing to change to bring the menu bar back.
    Thanks

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Esteemed Member acheron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    838
    Threads
    29
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    06:02 PM
    Have you added a global menu widget or titlebar button?

    In Plasma 5.12 adding one of those activates it automatically, and hides the application menu bars.
    Last edited by acheron; May 7th 2018 at 12:15 PM.
    On #kubuntu-devel & #kubuntu on irc.freenode.net - IRC Nick: RikMills - Launchpad ID: click

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    12
    Threads
    4
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    02:02 PM

    Yes

    Quote Originally Posted by acheron View Post
    Have you added a global menu widget or titlebar button?

    In Plasma 5.12 adding one of those activates it automatically, and hides the application menu bars.
    Yes I have that widget but nothing appears in the title bar of applications and I can't edit the theme to remove it.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Esteemed Member acheron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    838
    Threads
    29
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    06:02 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by camoltoni View Post
    Yes I have that widget but nothing appears in the title bar of applications and I can't edit the theme to remove it.
    If you added the titlebar button, then go into Systemsettings > Application Style > Window Decorations, and in the buttons tab, drag the Applications Menu button off the titlebar preview to remove it.

    Then you will need to restart any applications for their menu to come back.

    On #kubuntu-devel & #kubuntu on irc.freenode.net - IRC Nick: RikMills - Launchpad ID: click

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    12
    Threads
    4
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    02:02 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by acheron View Post
    If you added the titlebar button, then go into Systemsettings > Application Style > Window Decorations, and in the buttons tab, drag the Applications Menu button off the titlebar preview to remove it.

    Then you will need to restart any applications for their menu to come back.

    I don't have that button.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20180507_095336.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	44.8 KB 
ID:	7532
    But the theme it has and I can't remove it or edit the theme
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20180507_095721.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	53.6 KB 
ID:	7533
    Thanks

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Esteemed Member acheron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    838
    Threads
    29
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    06:02 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by camoltoni View Post
    But the theme it has and I can't remove it or edit the theme
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20180507_095721.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	53.6 KB 
ID:	7533
    Thanks
    Thank is just a generic image. Not a full representation of the state of your current theme/settings.

    So the other possibility is that you have a global menu widget also, somewhere.
    On #kubuntu-devel & #kubuntu on irc.freenode.net - IRC Nick: RikMills - Launchpad ID: click

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    12
    Threads
    4
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    02:02 PM
    I don't think so, I did a fresh install and I don't change anything of that
    thanks again

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Esteemed Member acheron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    838
    Threads
    29
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    06:02 PM
    If you have the widget and did not realise it, you will have a section in

    ~/.config/plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc

    containing

    Code:
    plugin=org.kde.plasma.appmenu
    Or for titlebar

    ~/.config/kwinrc

    will have a line with

    ButtonsOnLeft=

    or

    ButtonsOnRight=

    with a 'N' in the string after the equals.
    On #kubuntu-devel & #kubuntu on irc.freenode.net - IRC Nick: RikMills - Launchpad ID: click

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Cyborg sithlord48's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    2,945
    Threads
    42
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    01:02 PM
    You do in fact have that button in your first screen shot its the second button on the list "Application M" is the text shown
    Mark Your Solved Issues [SOLVED]
    (top of thread: thread tools)

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Esteemed Member acheron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    838
    Threads
    29
    Local Date
    Jun 6th 2020
    Local Time
    06:02 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by sithlord48 View Post
    You do in fact have that button in your first screen shot its the second button on the list "Application M" is the text shown
    That is in the 'pool' of things you can drag to the mock titlebar, not set on that titlebar itself.
    On #kubuntu-devel & #kubuntu on irc.freenode.net - IRC Nick: RikMills - Launchpad ID: click

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •