This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Kubuntu

(first post, hope this is the best place for this)

Really I am fairly new to linux. I come from the mac world, bought my first mac plus in 1985.

My first intro into linux was Ubuntu 14.10 at the end of it’s life, when I picked up an cheap oldish ASUS lap top with a broken screen and windows something on it.

Unity was a fine, but I became tempted by other flavors. For the last year I have been very happy with xubuntu. With 17.10 on the horizon I shopping around, and so I came to Kubuntu.

I did a fresh install as soon as 17.10 was available. I Like it a lot! Very pleased so far with the Plasma desktop. I installed my required apps and all are working as expected on issues. I have spent the last day just playing and getting to know the ins and outs.

Kubuntu is running nearly as fast as Xubuntu did and any hit in speed is worth the beautiful Plasma experience. I see it as a very good blend of the traditional desktop experience with modern touches that do not get in the way.

I think this is a keeper.

Thank you everyone

Very pleasing to hear, and I'm glad you are appreciating the parts of KDE and Kubuntu that make us keep coming back.
    On #kubuntu-devel & #kubuntu on libera.chat - IRC Nick: RikMills - Launchpad ID: click

Comment

Good to hear this from a relatively new user.
      I've used KDE about since it came out, that's before Gnome was set up.

Through the years there have been hiccups but as soon as I try a different desktop I realise KDE is the most complete.
      In the beginning I ran Red Hat but very soon I realised the Debian/Ubuntu package management system was better and I will stay with Kubuntu although Neon is a nice alternative.

Some people complain KDE looks too much like Windows, in the early years (Win95-98)  Microsoft spend a lot of effort testing their desktop layout so I see no problem with it.

Comment

Thank you for the replies