X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Battery Discharging Whilst On AC Power

Hi all, newbie here, so please be gentle

Despite what you may think from the title, I'm posting this in the software section for good reason. I recently noticed that my laptop battery (Lenovo ThinkPad T530 with original battery) discharges when the laptop is plugged in to mains power. It will discharge quite rapidly (~8-12 hours) from 100% down to 10% and then much more slowly (1% every day or two) from there down. I'm not sure if it will ever actually get to 0%, but even once it's got to 8%, it's pretty useless if I want to unplug and go somewhere.

If I unplug the mains and plug back in, not much changes, but if I pull the battery out and slot it back in, it will charge back up to 100% (or thereabouts) and then start discharging again.

"Dodgy battery!" I hear you say. Fortunately, my work laptop is also a T530, so I swapped batteries. My work laptop runs Windows 7 and the battery charges up to 100% and then stays somewhere around there (Lenovo's power software letting it drain down to 96% or so before topping it off). Likewise, the battery from my work laptop has been in mine for a little under 24 hours and is currently showing 10% (was 96% ish when plugged in, I used it on battery for a couple of hours whilst watching Windows charge it up on the other machine, then swapped the AC back over to mine. Work laptop battery charged up to 100% in my laptop, then started the slow downward spiral).

"Dodgy charger!" you cry. Nope, I tried the above experiment with my charger in both mine and my work laptop, so I've discounted that one.

"Dodgy laptop socket/motherboard/charging circuit!" Again, I've discounted that by booting my laptop into Windows 8 and the battery charges and remains charged.