This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Black screen during boot

Hello, I am quite new in Linux world with Kubuntu 16.10 installed on my laptop. I want to install also this version (or any other version) on my second laptop which is really lowend. I am running in BIOS legacy mode with Windows 10 installed as well. After installation of Kubuntu 16.10 from USB live version I am able to choose my system in GRUB. But when I choose the Ubuntu options, there is just black screen and nothing will happen. I was googling a little bit and tried also the "nomodeset" option but without success. Does anybody have some solution for this case? Or what else to try?

Thanks!

computer setup:
    Intel Celeron Processor N3050
    Intel HD Graphics
    2GB of DDR3L Memory
    no HDD but only the eMMC 32 GB

Given your setup, GRUB, BIOS Legacy mode, there's a good chance that you can fix this using Boot-Repair:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

Originally posted by Qqmike View Post
      Given your setup, GRUB, BIOS Legacy mode, there's a good chance that you can fix this using Boot-Repair:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair
      Unfortunately this didn't help...

Comment

The Intel HD Graphics chip is common and well supported by every distro. Usually, the i915 video driver is used.
        Can you select the recovery mode and log into a root console?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
        "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
        – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment