Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Live CD? Text installer? Totally lost with the new install DVD...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Live CD? Text installer? Totally lost with the new install DVD...

I've been running Kubuntu for a few years now and had become accustomed to the text installer and used it very successfully to create a dual boot machine with RAID 0+1.

Since then, they've gotten rid of the text installer (best I can figure) and the live CD as well (I'm at a loss on this one). I'm really very puzzled as to why I can't burn a DVD of Kubuntu 14.04 LTS and actually boot from it. I've had this trouble on multiple hardware configurations with multiple different CDs.

Can someone explain to me how I can get Kubuntu installed on a computer without networking capabilities? The discs I have now point to an online launcher that won't actually do anything than make another partition on my hard drive that doesn't work anyway. The hardware simply shuts down when Kubuntu attempts to load.

We sure do have the live iso.
    The standard iso image *is* a live image, it is just no longer cd-sized. Usually you "burn" it to a usb stick and boot from that, or burn to a DVD. A network connection is not required, the installer does ask if you want to download updates as you go, but you can uncheck/skip that. (I usually do so myself)

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/In...n/FromUSBStick
    I have not used an optical disk to perform an install in many years now, probably 2010, even though I have old hardware.

There has not been a text mode installer for a full desktop for quite some time now (12.04 was the last one). The Ubuntu server installer is text mode, as it has no gui anyway, and there is a minimal net install as well, which is also text mode.