This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[MULTI BOOT] My Positive [Believe It Or Not] EFI/Dual-Boot Experience

Since the prices on 4TB drives have started to come down ($125+shipping on Newegg as of this writing) I decided it was time to start looking into converting my system from MBR over to a UEFI/GPT-based setup. I've read through a LOT of information here on these forums, as well as other places and, being computer-savvy (I've been working with computers in one way or another for over 25 years), I decided to make a go of it so that I would know what I was doing when the time came to add a 4TB drive or two to my PC. I am no stranger to PCs or to installing operating systems, but UEFI was (and still is) something completely new to me. I had very few issues and none that I could not overcome, but since it seems like UEFI is still a major headache for many I thought I would share my experiences here. This is in NO way meant to be any definitive, final guide or tutorial, though I have done my best to be as detailed as possible in describing the steps I took. This is simply me documenting how I went about getting things done. Many of the things I talk about are plainly obvious facts to a lot of folks, but to me a lot of them are things I learned as I went along so I included them in the write-up. If someone else can learn a thing or two from what I did then that makes it all the better. And finally, I am NO expert on UEFI and I still have a LOT to learn but I am more than happy to answer any questions that I can.

First things first, here are the basics of the system I used during my experimenting:

Intel DP55KG Extreme Series motherboard
    Intel i5-760 (first-generation) quad-core CPU @ 2.80GHz
    12GB (3x4GB) DDR3
    MSI GeForce 210 graphics card
    ThinkPenguin TPE-N300PCIE4 Wi-Fi card
    LG dual-layer "Super Multi Blue" BD burner
    320GB Seagate platter drive