X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Laptops that work well with Kubuntu?

Hi all! Linux noob here.

I currently have an aging HP dv7-7027cl that's going downhill: Windows 7 is starting to fail, and Ubuntu barely works on it.
    I'm looking to get a new laptop later this year, but this time I want to try Kubuntu in a dual-boot system with Windows 10.
    Lenovo looks like it has a pretty good laptop lineup, and I see that a lot of them have really good Ubuntu support.

Is it possible to install drivers separately from the Ubuntu ISO package (ex. http://www.ubuntu.com/certification/.../201501-16339/) so that I can use them with Kubuntu? (and if so, will this cause issues?)
    If not, what do you all recommend for a laptop that works really well with Kubuntu?

Like you say Lenovo stuff is generally fine, Thinkpads are excellent. Ubuntu and Kubuntu are the same under the hood, only the desktop environment and default installed applications are different (so the drivers included in an ISO will be the same for Ubuntu and Kubuntu).

If the laptop comes preloaded with Ubuntu you can just install the kubuntu desktop meta package to get Kubuntu.

BTW, if you have the chance to customise it, check if it has a Broadcom wifi chip. If it does, replace it with an Intel wifi chip, generally they work better in Linux in my experience. Or you can swap the chip yourself when you get it.
    Last edited by Feathers McGraw; Jul 14, 2015, 04:51 PM. Reason: missing bracket
    samhobbs.co.uk

Comment

I've had excellent results with a wide variety of Acer laptops and notebooks. In fact Acer's are the only brand I've purchased since I made my last white box back around 2004.
      "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
      – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment