This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Historic conciesness

How many people are still using floppy disks?

I ask it from people that are running what is arguably the most modern desktop available.
    Because those shiny new (monochrome) icons use a floppy as symbol for saving!

(Hmm, historic awareness might have been a better title)
    Last edited by Teunis; Apr 29, 2015, 11:47 AM.

That's ok, I use an old TV icon for my videos. Nostalgia can be fine in small doses.

Please Read Me

Comment

Whats funny though is that younger people have no idea what a floppy disc is. Im a teacher and I once asked my students if they knew what it was. They had no idea. Similar results with cassette tapes and video tapes. Icons are pointless if a large portion of the computer using population has no idea what the icon is.

Comment

I'm not so sure. Sometimes art surpasses the immediate perception, and icons are a modern form of graphic representation of a non-graphic concept. I.e. recording something is not a graphic concept, but the icon representing it, is. How boring life would be if everything had to be literal and specific. Symbolism, iconography, impressionism, cubism - all ways to represent something real in a non-realistic way. I suspect (hope, really) that a floppy disc icon might cause one of your students to question their reality enough to examine the source of the image, and thus mind expansion and learning may happen! Exciting, right? Otherwise, why have icons or art at all? Why not exchange the out-dating images for black and white plan text explaining the factual function of the click - BORING...

Please Read Me

Comment

I've installed 3.5" floppy drives on all the computers I've built, thinking, why not, they're inexpensive and you can boot from them.

Post-Windows XP, where they came in handy to install mobo drivers during the install process, and since the Linux kernel grew too big to fit on a floppy, I haven't used them.

Comment