This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Firefox [crash] is my favorite [crash] browser, by far [crash]

Every day - 2 to 4 crashes. Currently, I have 34 tabs in one window. It's not unusual for me to have 3 windows with a total of well over a hundred windows. Before someone gets all excited about my overloading the browser, let me just say that while I'm a pathetically impotent programmer, even I can cook up an algorithm for keeping a browser from turning into the incompetent monster Firefox so easily becomes (note available memory, and dump stored pages, but not URLS, at some safe limit).

I switched from Chrome to Firefox a few months back because of what appeared to be incessant memory leaks with Chrome, necessitating multiple reboots daily to just keep from the whole system's freezing up. A number of people here applauded the move, and I myself was happy to return to my long favorite browser. But Firefox appears to have the same memory leak problem, just not as bad. And it cannot keep from blowing up. I can live with this (what choice do I have?). I'd just rather not have to.

I've posted about this before, and someone pointed out that there is a known bug, in existence for several YEARS, involving Firefox's crashing due to "too many tabs". Really? Is Mozilla that incompetent? Or is it that this problem just doesn't matter enough?

Does anyone have any ideas about how better to deal with this? I'm just curious. I find this situation most peculiar.

I don't know, as I suffer zero crashes as far as I can recall, using either Firefox or Chrome.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_crashes

First place to look are extensions, I'd guess

Comment

After years of stability, firefox has been crashing a lot for me the last few months. Usually the crashes have to do with you tube, but not always and "The HTML5 player is currently used when possible."

My list of add-ons has not changed for years, though of course they have been updated often.