This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dual Boot & UEFI -- another lost soul

Wow! I feel like I am drinking from a fire hydrant. I have been using Linux since 2004, but as a user. I am not skilled in it. I have set up 10-12 laptops and 3-4 desktop with various flavors over the years for family members. Several I have set up as dual boot with some version of Windows. My latest have been some Dell Latitude Windows 7 laptops and I have never had a problem until now. My latest is a E6430 with UEFI. It is set up in UEFI Boot Mode with Secure boot turned off. I would like to keep the Windows 7 install it came with on a 50 GB partition and then install Kubuntu 14.04.2 LTS for the regular use OS. I want 12 GB for a / partition, 6 GB for a /home partition (I link almost everything -- wine, virtualbos, documents, etc -- to the data partition), 8 GB for swap and the rest for a data partition. I plan on running Windows 7 in VirtualBox for the few regular applications that won't run well in Wine. I have gotten the original Windows 7 partition shrunk and the other partitions designated using Windows disk management. All seems to be well on the Windows side on reboot. I have tried to follow Steve Riley's “Dual-booting Kubuntu on a Windows machine” thread part 3, but did have some problems, perhaps because it did not apply to Win 7. When I boot to a live USB my problems start.

PROBLEMS:
    1. Formatting for my new partitions is grayed out in partition manager (this is also why I had to do the shrinking and partitioning in Windows). Will the installer be able to partition them? Why can I not format them?

2. When I am ready to install I get a warning:
    The partition table format in use on your disks normally requires you to create a separate partition for boot loader code. This partition should be marked for use as a "Reserved BIOS boot area" and should be at least 1 MB in size. Note that this is not the same as a partition mounted on /boot.