This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help with my web cam in Kubuntu 14.04

Hey guys, people on here (such as Vinny) have helped me with setting up my wireless, downloading Skype, and other issues. For this help, I am profoundly grateful, especially since I'm new to Kubuntu. Before I detail my problem I want to say that I have been enjoying Kubuntu so far, it's super customizable, and learning to use the command line has been enjoyable and fascinating. Having said all this, I must ask for your help again with the following issues, some of which may not be resolvable, and that's okay, but I just thought I'd ask.

I have a webcam, mic, and printer I want to get working (if possible) on Kubuntu 14.04. The webcam is the highest priority for what I want to get working. Currently, it works in cheese, but isn't working at all in Skype (the option for a video call isn't even there). To my knowledge, this means it's already installed and has the right drivers, but I can't be completely sure. I don't know if it's a Skype issue or what.

I'm using a Microsoft LifeCam VX-1000.

A Snowball Ice Blue Mic and

a Lexmark 2404939 X2670 All-in-One Printer Copy/Print/Scan machine.

Any advice for any of these would be welcomed, priority going to the webcam preferably as I use that one the most, it has a mic, and it's the most important.

I've been able (to my surprise) to install steam and my video games and ZSNES emulator without a hitch. So these are the final three issues I need to solve before everything is "normal".
    Last edited by Snowhog; Sep 01, 2014, 10:32 AM.

UPDATE:

I tried this:

ferociousmadman@ferociousmadman-CM5675:~$ LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype &

but got this:

[1] 2962 ferociousmadman@ferociousmadman-CM5675:~$ ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libv4l/v4l1compat.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded (cannot open shared object file): ignored.