This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Touchpad Will not Respond after Fresh Install of Kubuntu 14.04

Hello. Im fairly New to Linux. I've used Ubuntu before and even there, the Touchpad wasn't working well.
    It was working at first, but after a few installations of other distros, it stopped working. Im using an EXTERNAL Mouse for now.
    I Have Synaptics Installed on my computer, but there is no driver or anything that says it's installed.
    This is what I get when I do Xinput List in Konsole.

Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
    ⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎜ ↳ USB Optical gaming mouse id=9 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎜ ↳ USB Optical gaming mouse id=11 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
    ↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Sleep Button id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ USB Optical gaming mouse id=10 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ ASUS USB2.0 Webcam id=12 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Asus WMI hotkeys id=13 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=14 [slave keyboard (3)]

As you can see, it looks like I have 2 Optical Gaming mouses Attached?
    Could that be the reason why my Touchpad isn't responding?

Please Help, Any of it is Greatly Appreciated! Thanks in Advance.

Would this work for you?

Code:
    sudo kate /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf
    Then enter the following in to that file

Code:
    Section "InputClass" 
    Identifier "touchpad catchall"
    Driver "synaptics"
    MatchIsTouchpad "on"
    Option "TapButton1" "1"
    Option "VertEdgeScroll" "1"
    Option "HorizEdgeScroll" "1"
    EndSection
    Save and exit the file. You may need a re-boot.

Try it and see if it works, the above works on my Dell Inspiron 6400 (aging) laptop.

Comment

This is what I get when I enter that first command