X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No Bootable Device insert boot disk and press any key

Hi all,

I have freshly installed kubuntu 13.10 over entire hard disk replacing the previously installed ubuntu 13.10. At the time of booting, an error message is displayed on the screen stating "No Bootable Device --insert boot disk and press any key". However, I am successfully able to boot kubuntu from the BIOS setup.

I am a linux newbie and have rather little knowledge about it. Please suggest a way to resolve this issue so that I don't have to enter BIOS setup each and every time I boot the OS.

Thanks

I'm a bit confused as to how this works, but if you can boot into Kubuntu somehow - just re-install grub and it should work. Assuming a single drive system or booting from the first drive of a multidrive system:

sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    sudo update-grub

should fix it.

Please Read Me

Comment

I've tried these commands but still the same error message is there and no GRUB !

Comment

Originally posted by ologn13 View Post
        Hi all,

I have freshly installed kubuntu 13.10 over entire hard disk replacing the previously installed ubuntu 13.10.
        ? was this to "fix" a problem? and was it working before?

At the time of booting, an error message is displayed on the screen stating "No Bootable Device --insert boot disk and press any key". However, I am successfully able to boot kubuntu from the BIOS setup.
        please describe this in detail ,,,,,and are you in the BIOS setup or a boot device/from screen ?

I am a linux newbie and have rather little knowledge about it. Please suggest a way to resolve this issue so that I don't have to enter BIOS setup each and every time I boot the OS.

Thanks
        do what you do to get booted into Kubuntu ,,,,, open a terminal and post the output of
        Code:
        sudo parted -l
        (that’s a lower case L)this will show us the drive/drives layout .