X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Installing a Driver for MyGica A680B USB TV Tuner

Hello.

For almost a year now I've been waiting for a Linux driver for this card and on a whim emailed the company asking what the progress is. In shock I was sent a link to the driver. However, I'm not quite sure how to compile this driver and install it into my system. I unzipped the downloaded driver into the /usr/src/ directory where the kernel headers are. Then I installed the make and the gcc. But I did not install the kernel sources. Are those required? Anyone willing to help a noob through this?

Here's a link to the driver itself:
    http://www.geniatech.com/down-eng/at...inuxdriver.zip

TIA
    Rudy

For searchers this device is also referred to as Auvitek or Syntek

Re: Installing a Driver for MyGica A680B USB TV Tuner

Hi, I'm no expert, but a couple of things which may help:

The contents of the .zip don't need to be in /usr/src. They would be better placed in your own part of the file system, say /home/rudy/yfeng-680 then do the following:

cd /home/rudy/yfeng-680

make

sudo make install

The make step will probably take a long time and you may see a lot of warnings scroll up the screen. They don't matter. It will certainly tell you if kernel sources are required. I doubt they are. The linux-headers-generic installed should be all that's required.

Good luck.

Comment

Thank you skint.

I seem to be getting the same error with and without the sources installed.

Code:
      /home/rudy/yfeng-680$ make
      make -C /home/rudy/yfeng-680/v4l 
      make[1]: Entering directory `/home/rudy/yfeng-680/v4l'
      creating symbolic links...
      make -C firmware prep
      make[2]: Entering directory `/home/rudy/yfeng-680/v4l/firmware'
      make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/rudy/yfeng-680/v4l/firmware'
      make -C firmware
      make[2]: Entering directory `/home/rudy/yfeng-680/v4l/firmware'
      make[2]: Nothing to be done for `default'.