X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[FIXED] Error: Install Package - Failed to Lock /var/lib/apt/lists/lock

Hi there. I am new to Kubuntu.
    I have installed Kubuntu 10.04.1 on my laptop as a dual boot with Windows Vista (on separate partition).
    So far so good.
    I seem to have a working Internet connection, as I can use Google search with Konqueror,
    but individual web pages will not load.
    To be able to post on this forum I have to use Windows Vista.

Problem is I can't get updates to any software either.
    When I try I get the following messages:

Waiting for authentication...

Error: Install Package
    Failed to lock /var/lib/apt/lists/lock

I have searched the Internet for answers, but found only one mention of /var/lib/apt/lists/lock problems.
    They seem to be connected to people upgrading their Ubuntu install to higher version.
    But I have done a clean install with the newest available version of Kubuntu, 10.04.1

Also I can't get my screen resolution right.
    My laptop can handle 1280x800 (and 1024x768) but Kubuntu won't give me more than 800x600 in settings.
    Anyone know how to solve that ? (I did an Internet search for that too but didn't find clear (recent) answers for that.

I am aware I am very new to Kubuntu, and will need to learn a lot of new things, but if I just can get the basics working I know I will succeed to get it rolling.
    It's just very hard to get a system running if I need to reboot into Vista every time I need to search the Internet or ask on a forum.
    So any help is very welcome and will be highly appreciated.

On my part I can say that once things work sufficiently I will become an active part of the Kubuntu community and start contributing myself.
    I have experience in translating software and can contribute in that field.
    So I am not only asking, but am very willing to give as well.

Sincerely,

William

Re: Error: Install Package - Failed to Lock /var/lib/apt/lists/lock