This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Package manager

When one install Kubuntu Breezy, the package manager that comes with it is impossible to use. I prefer to use Synaptic, but I cannot even install or connect to internet yet. How can I add other sources esp. CD's to it?

I have the Ubuntu Breezy CD as well. My previous work around was to first install Ubuntu and add the Kubuntu CD as a source to Synaptic and then add KDE as base, but many things like my scanner simply won't work with the "standard" Ubuntu install, even though I re-use the Kubuntu CD as source. With KDE is works first time, but oh, the sources that I am unable to add!!! I am not a scientist!

Re: Package manager

You can add the Ubuntu CD to your package list. Open a konsole: K>System>Konsole, then give the following command
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
    When asked, type your password. The console editor nano will open showing the file /etc/apt/sources.list, which is the sources list. The first thing to do is to type Alt-B which will enable automatic backup. This will give you a copy of the file called sources.list~ when you save it.

The first line of the sources.list file will say something like
    Code:
    deb cdrom:[Kubuntu 5.10 _Breezy Badger_ - Release amd64 (20051012)]/ breezy main restricted
    Copy that line to the line below so that you have two identical lines. Now you have to make some small changes. First, add a # sign at the front of the top line. Second, delete the K in the word Kubuntu on the second line (the one without the #) and change the small u at the start of ubuntu to a capital U. Save the file by typing Ctl-O. Then type Ctl-X, to exit nano. Put the Ubuntu CD-rom in the drive Still in the console, type
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    If it has been more than 15 minutes, since you started sudo, you will have to enter your password again.