This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 8.10 doesn't install

Greetings to all. I'm very new to Linux and Kubuntu. I have an old PC tower by Compaq with Windows XP and AMD 64 Athlon processor in it. I got my hands on Kunbuntu 8.10 and wanted to give it a try.

No matter what option I try, everything seems to freeze once Kubuntu 8.10 starts loading. Whether it's the demo or full install, I get the same thing...

I get the start up screen with the logo and "kubuntu" in blue, and below it is the blue cursor that goes back and forth. After about 20 seconds, it freezes and nothing more happens. The keyboard lights for "caps lock" and "scroll lock" blink and that's it.

Do I need to have the PC connected to the internet? IS there something I need to do before running it right from the CD? I purchased this version directly from Amazon.com

Thank you in advance,
    Brian

Re: Kubuntu 8.10 doesn't install

Since you bought the CD, it should be good. Take a look at #2 in the FAQs in my signature -- probably it is a power management or video display issue and you need a boot option.

First try using F4 "Safe Graphics". If that works, you can run the live CD and play with the OS. If it doesn't, try F6 "Boot Options".

Using the F6 menu option, I would first try the power management options:

noapic
    noacpi
    nolapic

If those don't help, then start working through the video options:

vga=788
    vga=791
    xforcevesa

One (or a combination) will work, almost certainly.

Comment

Thanks dibl

I did the first two steps.
      --Safe graphics didn't work. It froze up.
      --selected the noapic, nolapic, and acpi-off (no exact wording of noacpi). It froze up.

Don't know where to access the video options, do not see them on the start up/boot menu.