This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu install doesn't do anything?

Linux newbie here but I've got lots of *NIX experience. This probably will sound really dumb but here goes...

I've been trying to get Kubuntu 7.10 or 6.06.1 installed on several different x86 Desktop and notebook machines and have yet to have it install. Clearly I'm doing something wrong but I don't see what.

The isos were downloaded and burned with infrarecorder without incident.

The CDs boot both natively and in VMWare Workstation 6 and the menu is presented.

In all cases, when I navigate the menu to "Start or Install Kubuntu" or "Start Kubuntu in Safe Graphics Mode" and hit Enter to select it the CD spins and spins but the install never seems to progress beyond that point. The menu just sits there, no messages are displayed, and nothing seems to happen except the CD drive spinning away. I've waited over an hour for the screen to show *something* happening but it never does. If the CD is booted with no user interaction the countdown timer decrements from 30s to 0s and then nothing else ever happens.

When "Check CD for Defects" is selected the drive spins for a bit but nothing ever shows on-screen. Selecting "Memory Test" also shows nothing except the menu. No error or progress messages whatsoever.

So... what am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

Re: Kubuntu install doesn't do anything?

Sounds like you're having a rough time

Somebody else with more experience in this area may jump in here and give you a better suggestion, but I would recommend giving the Alternate CD a try.
    Asus G1S-X3:
    Intel Core2 Duo T7500, Nvidia GeForce 8600M GT, 4Gb PC2-5300, 320Gb Hitachi 7k320, Linux ( )

Comment

Probably you are not burning the ISO at 4X speed. The ISO image uses extreme compression, and you can't burn it at whatever speed the burner would like to use.

Comment