This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

black screen after latest update

Last night I ran an update check showed 240 packages needed updating so i started it and went to bed this morning when I got up and performed the required reboot.
    the computer boots normally straight to log in , I log in and it goes to a black screen with a mouse pointer, ctrl alt f2 does take me to command line, it I hit power off if flips to the kubuntu log off and shuts down. I am a newbie as far as linux goes I have started learning a little bit but not much, this computer was bought new a year ago latest intel sandy bridge processor with on board graphics, gigabyte GA-H67A-UD3H-B3 motherboard on a whim installed kubuntu and it has worked fine except for a bug in the power settings but thats another issue. So I hereby throw myself on the mercy of the forum help me get my pc back, thanks

this bug seems to have hit a lot of pepole in the last copell of days ....not me yet and I am fully updated?
    get to a command line and log in .....then try sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop and sudo apt-get install xinit one user sead they got it back by installing startx and thats in xinit

then do a sudo reboot and see what happens.

VINNY
    i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
    16GB RAM
    Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores

Comment

THANK YOU SO MUCH, I got my computer back, reinstalled kde and rebooted and am back in, since I am on here let me ask another question, I have read that there is some kind of issue with power settings, I set my monitors to never go off but they go to stand by after about 2 minutes any clue

Comment

Originally posted by JohnArgent View Post
        THANK YOU SO MUCH, I got my computer back, reinstalled kde and rebooted and am back in, since I am on here let me ask another question, I have read that there is some kind of issue with power settings, I set my monitors to never go off but they go to stand by after about 2 minutes any clue