View Full Version : Spam or attack?
Fintan
Oct 23rd 2007, 08:06 PM
I just recieved this email from masonmouse@yahoo.com:
You are now registered with an account at Kubuntu Forums, masonmouse!
Your account's username is masonmouse and its password is ********** (which can be changed later.)
Before you can login, you first need to activate your account. To do so, please follow this link:
http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?action=activate;u=22327;code=a64c94baaf
Should you have any problems with activation, please use the code "a64c94baaf".
Regards,
The Kubuntu Forums Team.
I have not opened the email and can forward it to the right person if needed.
I don't know who this and how he got my email.
What to do??
dibl
Oct 23rd 2007, 08:16 PM
Start nibbling cheese?
;D ;D ;D
It must be spam -- no one would do that deliberately. :)
But I wouldn't click on that link, either!
eriefisher
Oct 23rd 2007, 08:18 PM
Go ahead, open it. Let's see what happens.
eriefisher
dibl
Oct 23rd 2007, 08:19 PM
Go ahead, open it. Let's see what happens.
eriefisher
Man, there is a vicious streak in you, Erie! :o
Fintan
Oct 23rd 2007, 08:22 PM
Hey Erie, I have an idea. Why don't I forward it to you and you can open it in Windows ;) :D
I going for a beer or three ;D
eriefisher
Oct 23rd 2007, 08:47 PM
C'mon it's Linux, what can it do.
claydoh
Oct 24th 2007, 02:09 AM
it very well could be someone put your email in the
"Did you miss your activation email? " link
http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?action=activate
Now I imagine a bot could do that, but why a specific email that already exists?
I think you are ok to ignore the email, not sure about SMF, but most of these activation links have a time limit, so if you don't reply your current password/etc is safe
The person to forward it to is Open Source (webmaster@kubuntuforums.net)
Open Source
Oct 24th 2007, 03:54 AM
Not sure where he got your email address, and not sure why he would have sent that to you, unless it is the forum software that is the culprit. Maybe there was a bug in the database or something. I don't know what to say. Let me know if you find something out.
masonmouse
Oct 24th 2007, 04:41 AM
I don't know how he would have gotten my activation message either. I registered with the forum earlier today and posted once and that's been the extent of my activity until this post. Some database bug would also be my guess.
Fintan
Oct 24th 2007, 10:32 AM
@erieOf course this is linux, you were supposed to open it in windows :) :) ;)
Well at least there is a masonmouse. Do you need your activation key it's in my inbox :) ;) :D
That leads me to a bug in the database.
I checked the hyperlink at it is.
http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?action=activate;u=22327;code=a64c94baaf
Maybe opensource can check that and find out where it leads to?
Thanks for the concern :)
masonmouse
Oct 24th 2007, 01:54 PM
> Well at least there is a masonmouse. Do you need your activation key it's in my inbox
No, I'm good to go, thanks. :)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.